OstarasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #paganism6 years ago

easter-2197043_1920.jpg

Spring is almost here and the weather is beginning to feel much warmer. The equinox is a celebrated pagan holiday. It's called Ostara in some traditions.

Ostara celebrates the fact that the sun has returned and now the days will finally be longer than the nights. Many people work on ideas for planting seeds in climates where seeds need to be sown after Mothers' Day, like mine. Others begin to plants seeds in gardens, outdoors and indoors. Sometimes these seeds are literal and sometimes they are metaphorical.

In a previous post I mentioned that maybe New Years wasn't the best time to start something new. Spring, with the rebirth of the Earth, is the perfect time to start new things, especially if it involves anything outside.

Here, even though we usually have some freezing days after the first of spring, there is green grass popping up in our yard. I'm thankful that it's been a mild winter. Life has been stressful for a number of years and I have welcomed the warmer winter. I know that means our area will probably be prone to fires this summer, but there isn't much I can do about that.

I will hope for a lot of rain this spring and summer though. I love the rain.

Tonight I am holding a ritual for locals to attend, to try to bring balance into our lives, much like the upcoming equinox. I'm making some lavender lemonade and deviled eggs to share with everyone tonight.

What are you thankful for, and is there something new that you are planning on starting this spring?

Sort:  

I'm thankful it will soon be warm enough to feel like getting outside and walking again on a regular basis.

Yes, yes!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83