Valpurgis Night Celebration: Herbs, flowers and bonfire

in #pagan6 years ago

DSCF1376small.JPG

This year my friends invited me to a Beltane/Walpurgis night celebration. I usually celebrate it with a bonfire in my garden and I didn't want to give up on this idea but the celebration party sounded great too. I often like celebrating few days in the row so this year our bonfire took place on Sunday, two days before Beltane itself.

DSCF1373small.JPG

It so happened that our neighbour was taking down an old fence and was happy for us to keep the wood. It burned very intensely and created lovely flames. We watched the rising full moon and how the sparks float into the night sky.

DSCF1366small.JPG

For me Beltane is all about the beginning of summer and the vitality of nature. It's the first time in the spring when my herbs grow big enough for me to pick some. I like doing it as part of the celebration. It is such a joy to taste a cup of tea brewed from fresh mint and lemon balm!

DSCF1336small.JPG

Since so many herbs grow in my garden and so many plants are blooming I decided to make a flower-crown for Walpurgis night. I used a branch of blooming plum tree and decorated it with mint, wormwood, marsh marigold, dandilions and some pretty purple flowers that grow on the ground. I was ready for my friends to pick me up.

4507724171807914028.jpg

Sort:  

Haha... that suits you, Dana! I'll drop in for that tea.

Thanks! Yes, drop in for the tea! It would be lovely. It's just a short swim through the North Sea from Norway. :D

Wow amazing pictures ,I think you had a great experience, the flowers look beautiful.
Heve a nice day.

Thanks. :) Yes, it was a very good celebration. Nice way to spend holidays.

oh you are enjoying your spring, i love this season.in the last photo you looks so pretty and cuty

Thank you. This year spring arrived a bit late so I am really happy that we finally had some sunny weather. :) How is spring where you are?

in here my country most of the day raining and cloud weather, love this wather i like most. just awasome dear.

Great flowers Photography 😎 I appreciate spring.
Best of luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89