KAYAK MAIDEN VOYAGE // #Paddlewithme

First time in the water for the new Kayak, the SS Manorville.

DSCN0247.JPG
First picture from boat.

Took it over to a local pond, Swan pond, that has easy access right off the little traveled road.

DSCN0146.JPG

No swans on the pond today. Very peaceful being the only person around. It was late morning so I brought some sun-block for my arms and thighs. Last time I was out on the rented kayak, came back with a little burn.

This is a favorite place for fishermen. http://www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/24199.html It is a shallow pond, deepest spot six feet and takes in 57 acres.

The different varieties of lily pads are still growing and cover a big part of the pond. Paddling will be difficult once the lily-pads are full grown and new ones join them. But today was just right.

DSCN0249.JPG

DSCN0251.JPG

DSCN0252.JPG

DSCN0255.JPG

Got home with no Ticks on me after this water adventure. It was fun, the water was clear saw a nice size snapping turtle and what I assume were bass at the surface. Unfortunately didn't get any pictures of either.

Awhile before I had seen a large Hawk flying high just off from the pond. Then as I was heading back with camera stood away, this Osprey flew right in front of me. About 50 foot (15 m ) from me and 30 feet (9 m ) above the water. If only I had my camera ready. It was a thrill. This must have been the Hawk I had seen earlier.

Thanks for dropping by, till next time ..... HAPPY PADDLING.

Sort:  

Wow, it's interesting to kayaking in such a calm pond, and there are snapping turtles. It looks like the ecological environment is very good! ! This is a beautiful place! !

哇,在这样一个平静的池塘里划皮艇真有意思啊,而且还有鳄龟,看样子这里的生态环境很好啊!!这真是一个美丽的地方啊!!

Yes nice place for a long time.

I saw the local scenery that I have taken and that place is really beautiful! !

我看了已拍摄的当地的风景图,那个地方真的要美了!!

You're welcome, I will always be your audience

不客气,我永远是你的观众

You got a 2.56% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @manorvillemike!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Hello @manorvillemike: Wow! That hawk wanted to attack you? Nothing is surprising with animals; since, they act by instinct ... I am happy, that today you didn't have problems with your ruthless enemy: the tick!
I see that your walk was: Bien Chèvere! (very entertaining)
Greetings.

No attack, just flew low and close.

Awesome photography~!!!!@manorvillemike

Wow, what a cool looking Kayak and that pond...oh my, I would so love to be there too.

Got to pick the right day and time. Was a little hot but manageable.

It's like a fairy tale. Even a little scary.

Yes, the first time. :-)

Oh congratulations on your new yak! Is there anything more peaceful then to float along enjoying the day?

Good for the soul. Thanks @dswigle

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59189.63
ETH 2650.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42