Scotland Diaries: Packing Tips

in #packing6 years ago

old-suitcase-with-stickers-3d-model-max-obj-ma-mb.jpg

Hello Steemers!
This Friday I will take the boat to Scotland from Rotterdam (The Netherlands). I travel quite a lot and therefore developed a true 'skill' on packing. While packing my suitcase and handbag(s), I always follow a certain routine to do it the most efficient and secure way. We probably all have experienced forgetting stuff, or overpacking/packing too light, or the worst: not being able to fit everything in your suitcase that you want to take with you. But fear not! This article will be all about avoiding these scenarios.

So here I am, starting the diaries and stories about my trip through Scotland with the 5 most important packing tips and tricks (that I use) for you to do it more efficiently and securely.

Tip 1 - Make a list:
This is a tip that has to do with the preparation. Whenever I go on a trip, even if it is just for a few days, I create a checklist of stuff that I most definitely need. This way I don't forget the necessary things. Furthermore using this list whilst packing I pack those things in the first place and then I know that I'm able to fill the space that will be left in my suitcase with whatever unnecessary things.
By making a checklist on what to pack you will clarify things for yourself.

Tip 2 - Use up every empty space:
This tip will help anyone who struggles with fitting everything in there suitcase. Basically, I used to really struggle with fitting everything in my suitcase, mainly because I like taking lots of different pairs of shoes/handbags. Until I recently read an article where people hinted on also using up the empty space in for example shoes or handbags. You could basically use your packed handbag as a place to put your toiletries or scarfs/underwear/socks. Besides your shoes are quite a safe place to stack your perfume bottles or other breakable products.
Using leftover space will make it possible to pack those extra few shirts or pants.

Tip 3 - Roll it!:
This tip will save you a lot of space and wrinkled clothes. Although I have only tried this hack once, I am totally doing this again. A great way of saving loads of space in your suitcase is by rolling the rest of your clothes. This trick will weirdly make it possible to take a few more pieces of clothing (for those who find a hard time choosing) and it will prevent your clothes from getting all wrinkled (because honestly who likes having to iron their clothes while being on a holiday).

Tip 4 - Use your hand luggage efficiently
This tip is for anyone who has a hard time packing all the accessories they want as well as all the clothes. So whenever you're going by plane, there will be an option for you to take two pieces of hand luggage (one small suitcase and a handbag). When I used to pack my shoes and handbags they always took up a lot of space, but I also did not like them to be in the same suitcase as my clothes. First of all, these bigger accessories could get your clothes all wrinkled and no one likes their dirty shoes to be next to their clothes. I know you could put your shoes in a plastic bag, but then there would still be place for two pairs (and I like taking more). Therefore, use your hand luggage! Take a small suitcase and just put all your shoes and handbags (or other big accessories) in it.
This tip keeps everything clean AND creates a great overview of everything you took.

Tip 5 - Capture your outfits beforehand
This tip will organize everything and will prevent you from overpacking or packing too light. When I go on a holiday I take pictures of my outfits for every day. I lay down my clothing and accessories and just mix and match some outfits. This way I only pack the clothing I need and I won't go back with a suitcase full of clothing that I didn't wear. A tip while doing this is to for example use the same pants for two outfits or the same accessories for multiple outfits.
Don't forget to always take two extra outfits for when the weather suddenly gets colder/warmer!

I hope you got some help out of this article the next time you travel! Totally forgot to mention that this was my first ever article, hope I left a good impression ;)
Have a nice day
x Britt

Sort:  

A fellow traveler and organizer! :) It's nice to meet you, Britt! I hope you have a great trip. I love all these tips and use them myself. After getting married, my biggest challenge was learning how to pack for myself and my 6'2" husband (whose shoes take up all the space!!) We manage though ... and now I get to pack for two little ones too :)

Looking forward to reading future packing/travel posts!

Glad to hear that you liked the post! My dad is 6'5" so it is always a real challenge for him to pack as well, haha.
I'll definitely check out your blog as fellow travelers!

Congratulations @brittlise! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55