Overwatch League: Stage 1 Week 1 first Impressions

in #overwatch7 years ago

Good Morning Steemian Gamers,
Overwatch league.png
(image source: overwatchleague.com)

Cplbiggs here with my first impressions of the season opener for the Overwatch League. At first glance, it looks like Blizzard put out all the stops. The building where the action went down was really cool. The stage looked professional and the commentary made me feel like I was watching any other professional sports broadcast.

So naturally, I had to grab a beer and pregame with a couple of ranked matches myself. I defended in Junkertown with Moira and attacked with Tracer with a win, which brought my SR up to 2324. I noticed on the main menu to the game that they had a direct link to stream the Overwatch League. Too convenient. So of course that's where I went, and everything streamed seamlessly. The first match of setting up to begin and I was ready to see what the best had to offer.

()
(image source: my snapchat)

The action was definitely there and the commentary was great. I was taking notes on the players using the characters I like to play as. I was surprised to see a member of LA Valiant use Tracer effortlessly to mow down the opposition, The San Fransisco Shock. I didn't know that she was widely used in the Meta, given to how frail she is.

Now here lies the problem. I felt that these matches were heavily lopsided. 2 out of 3 matches were sweeps and the last match series, The Dallas Fuel vs the Seoul Dynasty, had the losing team (Dallas) win a single match. Though every team played hard, having sweeps took a lot of the excitement for me. I think that I will wait until Saturday, to watch the 2 top seeded teams battle it out to end the stage. I pray to see no sweeps.


(standings courtesy of overwatchleague.com)

Overall, I enjoyed watching as the pros take the stage for the first time. It is something I will watch again. I encourage all Overwatch players to see a match at least once. It is fun, and you may end up learning some new strategy for your favorite heroes. Tell me what you thought! Comment below! Even if you didn't watch, or think Overwatch is overrated, let me know. Do you think Overwatch will lift E-Sports to mainstream viewing? Who's down to grab the stick and play a couple of matches? Let me know below.
Have a good one Steemians!
@cplbiggs

Sort:  

I started to watch the game, but i got so mucho hype on it that i had to start playing myself and kick some asses

Hey man i hear ya! Like I said I will wait till Saturday to see the best of the week duke it out. That will be the match to watch! Who do you main with?

Yes, im waiting for that match!! Damn..

Pharra, Zen, Zarya, Lucio, and rein in that order.

Yeah let the battle begin 😈

#Steemit #overwatch team for the next League!! Whos in??

I would have to get the pc game but I’m down!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66521.28
ETH 3454.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67