You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How A City Employee Sworn To Protect Treats A City Employee For Being A Good Samaritan

in #outofthinair5 years ago

What a crazy and surreal story. When I read stories like this and hear about "The Land of the Free", the only thing I can do is laugh.

Free, you say? North Americans are as Free as a stray dog in a municipal pound.

It's also because of these stories that I'd rather spend 2 weeks of holiday in Russia than even thinking about traveling to the USA. 😐

Sort:  

Oooh, ouch! Unfortunately there’s a lot of truth there. Like I said, this incident isn’t an isolated one, crazy, right?

I wouldn’t be too worried about visiting the states though @trincowski, there’s so much to enjoy there. Im certain you would really love it. I’m actually beginning to miss it actually having been gone for a whole year. But I don’t miss the cops.

Compared to Central America, South America which, by the way, have no emergency system and you can’t even own guns, parts of Southeast Asia, the UK and, now Europe, the US still the freest country by a long shot I’m aware of and I’ve been to all but, at the same time, as free as it is, I don’t call 911 there. Cops are not your friend in the states. Should you even make eye contact with a cop in the states you’ve just opened yourself up to illegal search and seizure which kicks off a whole chain unwarranted corruption where you’ll have your hands chained behind your back for something as simple as answering a question like “what’s your name?”

Happy Friday, sir! Thanks for checking this one out.

Well, how the Police treat the citizens is a good indicator of how free a country really is. When the citizens are scared of the Police, then I'm afraid that's not a very free country.

By the way, I was in Russia last year and the Moscow cops were pretty friendly. So much that they even explained me how to use the Metro system, when I was a bit confused and accidentally crossed a "No Passing Beyond This Point" sign, while I was trying to find my way out of there. 😁

One of the cops even took the time to take me to the Ticket Machine and spent a few minutes showing me exactly what buttons to press, so I could get my ticket.

Oh man, the cops are like that in Eu and the UK, too, you can actually ask them for help. Yeah you won’t get that treatment in the US, if you ask for help, they’re going to want your ID, purpose for being there, etc. A lot like every military branch of the world.

I wouldn’t disagree with you, I’ve never been to Russia, but I wouldn’t doubt their cops are friendlier than the states.

I still back the US, though, out of everywhere I’ve been, the freest is still the states. I mean, even the countries you’ve mentioned have censored internet. And the cops in those other countries are the only ones allowed to possess guns which doesn’t make any sense to me at all.

Another fascinating fact is everywhere I’ve been has health care where even I, an outsider, can be treated whereas in the states, they’ll literally let you die before allow your to sit in the waiting room if you’re not paying a premium health insurance.

It’s always a pleasure to hear from you @trincowski, thanks a lot for going back and forth with me. 👍🏿

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63422.01
ETH 2688.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58