You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Haveyoubeenhere 2019 Steemitworldmap Travel Contest - Rekindling An Old Flame

in #outofthinair5 years ago

Good morning from iLkley, England, @galenkp. We’re on day two of medical assistance, we’re already making progress. 👍🏿 Thank you for checking out this article and I appreciate the reply.

Liverpool, England, is the only place we’ve been where we extended our one month stay into two. We’re about a two hour train ride away from there right now but I’m sure we’ll get back there for a visit. The culture there is unbeatable. They’re the type of community who announces their detest for the media loudly and proud and, at the same time, wants the world to know their history in catapulting human slavery and how what a mistake it was. The Beatles are from there and it’s written everywhere you look, drawing more street performers and buskers than anywhere I’ve seen—it’s a concert everywhere you turn to look. We really love Liverpool. That being said, Israel is my most cherished journey yet.

Man, there’s just so much history there. We were able to tour Jericho, see temptation mountain and drink from the spring Jesus drank from when he came down from the mountain. We walked the streets on the Trail of Agony, viewed Jerusalem both inside and from the Mount of Olives. I took over 2k pictures of everything but was unable to transfer them in Rome. The connection here seems better, I should be able to share those experiences with you in the near future. The significance of Israel and the friends we made while we were there, the coast line, and quite a bit more is why I’m putting Liverpool at my second favorite and Israel number 1.

Thank you for asking. Eh, what’s up down there? I see your posts mentioning the fires occasionally and Pura has one of those instabookagram thingys so we see bits and pieces of the fires. She updates me occasionally on the amount of wildlife dying. What’s happening? Is it controlled fires? Are they natural and unable to be contained or?? This is literally my only social media access and I try not do any tv stuff (I get along well in Liverpool) so you’re my guy—do give me an inside assessment, please, what’s up with all of the fires down there? From what I read on here and what she tells me, it’s bad-bad-bad. How bad is it? Is it a personal agenda or no? Thank you in advance.

Sort:  

There's so many interesting place's to visit! I booked flights for Copenhagen and Finland last night...So if you are in either around July this year...Drinks and burgers!

So the fires. Yes, they are terrible out of control wildfires. Over 2,000 houses have been lost, more commercial and rural buildings, infrastructure as well. Thousands and thousands of stock animals and even more wildlife. I think about 10 people are dead. My sisters partner's parents lost their house and everything in it, 3 horses, a cat and countless chickens (are chicken breeders)...5,000 defence force troops have been turned out to assist and they fires still burn. It is a bad situation. The worst fire season on record.

Fires have hit from the west all the way through my state *South Australia), Victoria, Tasmania and New South Wales...That's a lot of land. Apparently some 13 million acres have been burned out. The 2018 California fires burned only 2 million.

It's not a good time for us.

Firstly, God bless Australia, I’ll add a prayer for you guys down there and that’s terrible about her partners parents. I was hoping you would correct me—so much for that! It’s even worse than I thought.

Yes, growing up Ca, annual fires are expected but what you’ve described is worse than anything I can remember. Is there any hope in sight?

With a warning like “July,” I can all but put the plan in motion, sir! We haven’t been to Finland yet, sounds like a perfect excuse to add it to our to-do list. Between me and you, it’s just us here right? I’m absolutely prepared to hear a doctor tell us the bouncing around needs to stop and it’s stress that’s messing up Pura. I never would’ve thought it, I’m the guy who would say “what do you have to be stressed about.. you have me!” But the more I learn about this infection and investigating these bodies of ours, some things, like “stress,” are just human nature and something like traveling can do that to people—if we’re told the moving around so much is what’s causing her sickness, I’m pulling the plug. BUT!

Like I said, I’m prepared for that diagnosis, not expecting it. I’d much rather tell you something like this: See you in Finland! She actually has two long-term friends going to Germany in August that she’d really like to go spend time with and Finland is just right up the street. Careful what you wish for, @galenkp! 😉 We’d love to join you and Faith at a table for an evening, to be continued.....

Yes, the country burns still, but we are a resilient bunch and don't let a little thing like a raging wildfire hold us down - That's what makes us Aussies!

So Finland...We'll be in Copenhagen first but Finland for a couple weeks...I think we are arranging a steem meetup with a few of the team up there...My brother @tarazkp lives there with his family as do several other steem-champs and so some burgers and a few drinks are on the agenda. It would be good to see you there.

You guys have to do what's right for Pura of course and if not travelling is the right thing that that's the right thing to do. Who knows, it might happen. I'll probably end up doing a some sort of post putting it out there for a meet up maybe in Copenhagen so let's see how it goes...Everyone is always welcome at my place down here for some home made burgers and a few drinks. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66293.76
ETH 3282.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70