You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rethinking a Personal Survival Kit

in #outdoors7 years ago

Re shelter options. If you include a wad of twine, heavy nylon or hemp stuff is better than cotton that falls apart when wet, high tensile strength fishing line could serve here, you wont need stakes, you can corner tie your shelter material (poncho, tarp, trash bag, etc) to trees or even some rocks to make "stake" points. I've done it.

Tell us about the Cantonese lady, that sounds like a good story, and I have a sneaky suspicion I know where it goes, maybe?

Sort:  

Speaking of the fishing line, anyone heard of those survival bracelets made of that military grade line, which unravels a few meters? Some come with extra features like a whistle, flint lighter, mini knife etc.

The paracord bracelets are available for sale almost everywhere. It's not really enough stuff for my risks/needs. But, better than nothing provided the wearer isn't overconfident about what those kits will provide.

You're correct. I did wonder if there was enough cord in the kit. I have the monofilament thread and can gut the type 4 paracord (275lb) if I need to. My shelter kit includes long guy lines for exactly this use. In this particular case the shelter was situated for the views and so there were no tie points around - not even clumps of grass.
The Cantonese speaking lady in Vietnam is one of those human connections you have if you travel and don't rush about. What made this one remarkable is that I had some followup five years later to see how things had gone for her.

Paracord in the form of a survival bracelet, that's what I meant.

Ah I thought it might be someone closer to you. ;) Good call on the lines...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56182.86
ETH 2369.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30