Fly Fishing for Salmon CANADA

in #outdoors6 years ago

Just before I moved to the Philippines, it would be a long time before I got to go fly fishing in Canada or perhaps this could be my last time.

My mom and dad are both from a tiny town (still tiny) of Boeistown New Brunswick Canada Eh! Most everyone lives close to the Miramichi River! If you go away from the river in either direction you are in true wilderness. Moose, very large white tailed deer, black bear, mink, partridge and many other ubundant wildlife seemingly everywhere. Every year I would spend the two months of school summer recess there with my family.

2A0C8FB6-1323-40F7-8203-B143291A4D39.jpeg

Most all of my in this area. When my wife and I were called by God to full time missionary work in the Philippines, I made sure we made a trip to one of my favorite places on earth, visit my relatives and fit in a little trout and salmon fishing.

My tackle:

  • An 80 plus year old Saint John Hardy fishing reel. This reel was owned by my father’s oldest brother. Uncle Fred. Still working great!
  • 8 weight 9 ft Orvis Clearwater fishing rod.
  • Double taper floating casting line 9 weight.
  • 150 yards of 30 pound test backing line.
  • Brown bomber fly.
    Photo from fishmadman.com
    B95C0B69-20B3-4581-8C06-A10FE17B24F9.jpeg

Photo of the reel from Vintageflytackle.com
873AA9ED-55F2-485B-89DC-7C1DDA780088.jpeg

I had to download these photos from the internet as my gear is with my family in Canada and USA. Perhaps I will get my fishing gear sent here and I will introduce fly fishing to the Philippines.

A few things I love about going here.

  • Little or no cellphone coverage
  • No internet
  • Only 40 houses in about 30 square miles.
  • People are friendly
  • Home made molasses cookies, assorted pies and homemade bread and rhubarb pie. The smell of home cooking.
  • People still leaving their car keys in the ingnition, homes unlocked, neighbors watching out for each other’s kids.

And not least of all, lakes with only native trout, steelhead and Atlantic Salmon Fishing with a Fly Rig.

If you look at the first photo, what do you notice? No houses! You can be fishing and see a moose walk to the river to cross or just come for a drink. Same with mink or black bear and very large white tailed deer. If you are on the water, usually the wind will blow up the river keeping off the black flies. My wife @ronafe was watching me fish along the bank and I was telling her about the bear and other wildlife. I told her that, “Hopefully. If a bear did come, it would not be hungry for Asian cuisine”. Some say that was mean spirited as she is from the Philippines. Lol!

So this post is not just a fish story. I have photos and I have an eyewitness to what I am telling you! My wife was not eaten by a bear and she will back up my story.

I had been visiting family and the fish were not running yet as the water level was low. But towards the end of our trip, it rained for about three days. I was catch lots of trout and quite a few nice ones, but my desire was for Atlantic Salmon. In my estimation, the number one sport fish, especially for the fly fisherman.

During the three days of rain the river rose almost 3 feet, then the rain stopped and the water level receded. I got up early and went it a fishing hole that is below where my maternal grand parents lived. I had on some waders was gong to fish without a canoe. Many times I go out with a canoe, but this day, just waders, my uncle Rick and my wife in tow.

As soon a we made it near the water, about a 12 pound salmon jumped completely out of the water and made a big splash. After a few casts, I hooked a first year Salmon specified as a “Grilse”. This would be the first year this fish returned to its birthplace to spawn.
Summer fishing for salmon is incredible. The Salmon are powerful and the Atlantic Salmon does not die after spawning. They just keep coming back every year and they are larger each year.

7450495D-18CC-449F-A2EF-A0E276004A35.jpeg

Just so you can reference the size of this fish, I put it next to my wife’s leg so you can see judge the size. This is a small one about 7 pounds or 3 plus kilos.
4B90F7F5-DB5E-47A1-8E25-54E174F5A99B.jpeg

I caught two Grisle this morning. This photo is with my uncle Rick.
EB527DE4-D0DA-48D1-9C54-E750A364D0C6.jpeg

My wife is the photographer on this one. She also took the photo of me fishing in the river.

The part of the fishing story you need to verify with @ronafe

The law during our visit allowed us to keep to Grilse and we were no allowed to keep any larger salmon. On my last visit to Canada I actually caught the largest salmon I have ever caught in my life. It was 23 pounds or over 11 kilos in weight. Such a beautiful fish! Up to this point we did not have a camera with us. After landing the large fish, I had it in the water waiting for it to revive as it was very tired. My uncle got in his vehicle and went to get something for a photo and the fish revived to rhe point I could not hold it any longer. So I let it go!

I caught one Grilse, then the big salmon and later another Grilse that morning. A time to remember and some of the best memories in my life, especially with my dad, is time fishing together.

Fly fishing for salmon. The best of the best.

Thank you for your time.
Daddy William
E565E4D5-4093-4350-B7B3-8FF8F8D57941.jpeg

Sort:  

Welcome.
I am a Fish-bot that supports fishing posts.
Thank you for publishing the post and use of the myhuntingfishing,fishing or pl-wedkarstwo tag, which I rewarded with "upvote".
If you care about the development of this bot, all you need is to like this comment, and the power of this fish-bot will grow. Thank you
Witaj.
Jestem Rybo-botem wspierającym tag pl-wedkarstwo i myhuntingfishing
Dziękuje Ci za opublikowanie posta i użycia tagu pl-wedkarstwo lub myhuntingfishing oraz fishing, który nagrodziłem "upvoutem". Jeśli będzie Ci zależało na rozwoju tego rybo-bota wystarczy byś w rewanżu "upwoutował" czyli polubił ten komentarz a moc tego rybo-bota będzie rosła. Dziękuje
Добро пожаловать
Я рыба-бот, который поддерживает рыболовные посты.Спасибо за Ваше сообщение и использование тегов pl-wedkarstwo, fishing или myhuntingfishing который является наградой «upvoutem ». Если вы заботитесь о развитии этого рыцаря, все, что вам нужно сделать, это «взволноваться» в матче-реванше, то есть, как этот комментарий, и сила этого fisboot будет увеличиваться. спасибо

977ed90d51b801891e07b99740d68a9e.gif

Congrats on such a big catch, William.

It's a shame you didn't get to photograph it but it's okay - next time nalang ✌

Thank you my friend! Great to hear from you! I hope you and your family are well!
Here they keep fish of any size. Even very small. Much of my fishing has been catch and release. Take care!

Hello @mhm-philippines, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you!

Dear @mhm-philippines,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ronafe from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47