FOLLOW UP.......MISSING PLAIN, WASHINGTON

in #outdoors5 years ago

In reflecting on my weekend last week in Plain, Washington, I am finding myself wishing I had had more time to really appreciate the snow and scenery than I did.

IMG_4514.jpeg

Just look at that picture! It's almost like a picture perfect postcard. I can taste the air and feel the cold breeze on my face. It was a refreshing hike to the highway.

IMG_4515.jpeg

When we got out to the highway, you can see in this last picture below, the stand of Aspen trees with their white bark and little black markings. Did you know that if you rub the bark of an Aspen tree with your hands, it comes away with a white powder like substance that can be used as a sunblock? Good to know on a sunny day, especially if you've forgotten yours and find yourself getting sunburned!

IMG_4517.jpeg

I will confess that you can't really see the black markings on this stand of Aspen in the picture, but trust me, they are there! It would have been nice to have more than 2 and a half days there, but I also know we will go back in the spring. Maybe then, we can do the extreme hike that wasn't accessible due to snow.

Thanks for stopping by! Have a nice night! Please upvote and re-Steem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01