Tiny CamperssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #outdoors8 years ago

It is no secret that I do almost anything to get outdoors.

My love of nature started in my early teen years. I would ride my 21-speed mountain bike out into the timber after school to find peace and serenity. On weekends, a friend and I would put our tents in our back packs, pedal out to our favorite spots in the timber and set up camp for a night. We were different from most teenage boys.

I camped in tents for many years, but gradually grew tired of them. On several occasions I dealt with a surprise storm and a leaky tent, among other inconveniences. So when I was 23, I bought a school bus and converted it into an RV that could sleep six people. (That will be an entirely different post.)

I used the bus for several years, and still have it. But after repeatedly getting it stuck in the mud trying to get to various off-the-grid campsites, I decided to build a tiny camper. One that was lightweight and could easily be towed to remote areas.
I came across a pickup bed trailer made from a 1967 Ford, and converted it to a hunting blind and camper. (I will post a Youtube video I made showing the transformation at a later time.)


I insulated this rig very well. I wired it with 110 volt AC and 12 volt DC. And yes, it even had air conditioning.


I finished the interior with a sofa that folds out into a full-size bed, a captain's chair, cabinetry, a sleeping bunk across the front, storage cabinets, and a rooftop hatch that opened for 360-degree shooting.


Yes, this was built for hunting, as you can see. During turkey season I stayed warm and dry with my Busch and my Winchester 1300 12 gauge.

Unfortunately, I no longer have this little camper. It had a severe problem with the axle and I was not able to take it with me when I moved from Missouri to Iowa. I sold it way too cheap just to get rid of it.

But after I moved, I bought another little trailer and built a second tiny camper. While this one was not as elaborate, my goal was to keep it ultra-light and aerodynamic.


After the wood framing was done, I added steel strapping for additional wind-shear bracing. Then I used Tyvek home wrap to cover the frame before adding the metal siding.


I insulated this camper very well.


A poor-quality photo. But you can see I painted the exterior in a snow-camouflage pattern.

I designed this second camper with a low profile and extremely rigid frame with the idea of hauling two canoes on the roof. It was meant to go to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area, but I haven't been there for three years. The camper sat in my yard without getting used, so I recently sold it to a friend to use on his 200-acre farm.

Tiny campers are a great upgrade from tents. No more leaky seams, condensation, insect infestations, or lack of security. My tiny campers have insulated, framed walls, locking doors, electrical systems, and plenty of storage for weekend trips. Plus they are lightweight and do not cost a small fortune to transport. If all goes well for me and my family, and God allows it, I plan to build more in the future and market them, in addition to building tiny homes.

I appreciate you reading my post and allowing me to share my creative projects with you and the world!

Sort:  

I love the little camper construction. Looks like you put a lot of effort into it. I'm a big fan of vintage (I have a 74 Triple E Surfside) and homemade campers.

You appreciate campers!! Awesome! You just got a new follower (and an upvote)!

May just be a new American Frontier with the upcoming stuff...or a new business!

You truly live up to your name , this IS country inspired. I love it! We've been kicking the idea around (building a mobile tiny-something) for a little while. It's really exciting to see a real human (not a TV person) doing this. Thanks for sharing!

P.S. Maybe you can integrate your lamps and counter tops in a new, lightweight material ;)

Yes, my name is indeed the most honest description of myself! Those people on TV make it look so easy, but it isn't. I would like to incorporate log furniture and deer antler lamps in a camper that I build.

I appreciate your comment and good ideas!

I am looking forward to seeing your progress! :D I'm sure you will build a stunning camper

Great post keep up the good work. I have just started a camper project from hell so if you want to feel better about your day go and see what i bought to fix. upvoted and followed. thanks

I will check it out. You have a post up about it?

Yes i have 2 short blogs so far, i'm still working on it though, just found some more issues today. Never a dull moment.

I love these! I was just going to say something about the new Tiny Homes and there you said it....like @enternamehere said - you live up to your name

Very cool! I'd love to try it out! Thanks for sharing!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Thanks for looking at my post!

You are a craftsman! You started in on the comfort at a young age, lol! Smart man! Can you tell much difference between trailers with the small wheels (like your recent project) versus trailers with the full-sized wheels (like the truck bed trailer)?

Thank you!
The truck bed trailer was much more top-heavy since it sat on a higher suspension. I had to take it really slow around corners. But it did really well off-road. The little tires on the second camper handle the highway better and the low-profile made for effortless towing.

That's the opposite of what I would have thought! I have hauled plenty of boat trailers and trailers for hauling, but have always had ones with larger wheels. I just figured the small wheels couldn't hold the same weight, would be running so fast, and would be more bumpy. Thanks for the insight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78