You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ostracism on Steemit: Why or Why Not?

in #ostracism7 years ago

That is exactly my opinion. How many good ideas we'll lose in the future with this kind of approach? I see this like censorship on steemit. We all preaching free market and than immediately jump on first big project. When I joined steemit last year every were I saw: steemit is SCAM, Larimers are SCAM, stay away!! Later on : Voting trails are SCAM, etc.Still today are people who post here and collect rewards every day and saying: don't buy steem. Who cares! We all adults here and we can do whatever we like. It's our money and our decisions. I'm not talking about this particular project here. And even author of this post don't want to mention any names. Wonder why?

Sort:  

I see this like censorship on steemit.

I see this as wisdom of the crowd by Steemit not falling for projects that require your money up front with the promise of delivering something later that will make you richer.

Everyone screams scam at everything nowadays, you have to know who to listen to and judge by yourself, how you can compare Steem to Mogul is beyond me.

Last time I'd checked we had around 170000 accounts. That's crowd. We can see exactly who killed this particular project. I can't compare Steem and Mogul because you didn't gave me a chance to even see Mogul. And crowd which you are talking about, sold me steem at $3 last summer. They really take good care for new steemians at that time. And steemit also promoting rewards for posting. How many people actually earn money on steemit? It would be funny to find Mogul to succeed on one of our competitors platform later on. Don't get me wrong. I'm not complaining. Steemit is great but we should be more open minded and long term focused. The real crowd will find and kill all weed, don't worry.

"The real crowd will find and kill all weed, don't worry."

Yeah, that's worked great for twitter and facebook and reddit. /s

That's why I didn't join any of those in first place.

Last time I'd checked we had around 170000 accounts. That's crowd.

Yes a really big crowd and even more probably reading it. Let's see do I want the platform to be known for the one that possibly skipped on a huge opportunity or the one that directly helped a really huge scam make bank and fuck over their members and readers? Hmm hard decision there.

The crowd was not the one that sold you Steem at 3$, that was the free market.

How many people actually earn money on steemit?

Go look it up. Last month I had curation rewards from 1500 unique authors.


If he indeed was not trying to scam anyone he would've stood his ground and defended his project. Not instantly lash out on careful users and start banning them from his "game". If this guy is in charge of that project and this is how he behaves, I don't care even if he was shitting out full blocks of bitcoins. That is unacceptable and very unprofessional. After his behavior I even tested him real quick to see how he would react and he behaved like a 8 year old boy who had just had his christmas present taken from him.

Yes, that's a user I want to trust 100-10,000 $ to.

Thank you very much for your answers. I'm sure we both on the same train here. My only concern is that this kind of behavior could scare and turn away some potential investors. I can smell the rat a mile away and this one was really stinky. My disagreement was only about how we handle this situation. But this is just a small bump on our way to success.

could scare and turn away some potential investors.

Real investors and people who are about to open up projects as big as in the range of this one will be more open about it, I believe. If not they'll at least stick around to convince people what is being accused is not true, not have a banter and ragequit.

We vote like we usually do and filter it out I guess. What's concerning to me is if a big part of the community already react this gullible to this type of easy to judge scams or characters, how will they act to others who aren't complete morons and know how to behave and trick readers and investors.

Guess it will be a lot more controversial with upvotes and flags when that time comes.

People are on internet for years. Most of us are familiar with all kind of scams and the naive ones will learn on a way. It could be expensive but that's free market.

Okay, well that's something I don't agree on. Sure the internet is filled with scams and other stuff, but that's what blockchain is here to change in my opnion and I'm glad the community behaved the way it did.

I can't talk for everyone, but I have personally invited people to the platform which I wouldn't want to get tricked into putting money up front in the hands of a possible scammer thinking its just another open-source blockchain project that might give them a good return. We both know how most open-source projects are created and distributed to the public, we both know signing up for the Steem blockchain costs you nothing and thanks to the advantages of blockchain and its rules allows you to earn cryptos from scratch, that's the biggest difference between what he was offering and what real innovation is.

Look. You can't protect all of them from scammers. It was nice to chat with you.
Sorry but I must go to mow my lawn now. It's 7.30 pm and I have two more hours till sunset. Have a great one.

Completely agree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.34