You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ostracism on Steemit: Why or Why Not?

in #ostracism7 years ago

I don't appreciate being "protected" by scam flaggers.

I think it has less to do with trying to protect others than it is an expression of, "I'm not going to accept this as a stakeholder myself." Yes, by bringing attention to an issue through commenting and flagging the post, other users might be influenced by that, but it's mostly an exercise for the individual flagging. It's ultimately up to each user to determine whether or not they will support or not support a given project, regardless of how others have voted. As @scaredycatguide said below in another comment - it's all about due diligence.

Regarding last night's post, I flagged it because I saw it as a blatant attempt to scam people and I felt that it would do damage to the reputation of this platform if it continued and if people were duped into giving them money. That damage has a direct effect on me as a stakeholder. So, I voted my economic interests just as much as my moral ones.

I don't intend to protect any individual person from themselves. If they want to buy into a scam, then that's on them. But if I can identify it and feel that it does harm to my own investments, I will express my concerns and vote accordingly, as we all should, no matter the size of our wallets.

Sort:  

You made the best argument I have heard to my position. I like it. I think the only part that bothers me is the UI graying it out. Thank you taking the time to "Argue" and help me refine my view.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33