Weekend fleemarket - fundraising for the kids - day 0

in #oslo6 years ago

We're going to have a fleemarket at Grorud, Oslo this weekend, we have it twice a year as a fundraising event for the school orchestra. It's lots and lots of work, but at least it's useful work. In the weeks before the market we're collecting junk that people give away, then on Friday we're preparing and unpacking. My wife is also baking cakes and making dough for waffles.

We've been collecting all kinds of junk in containers, here we've just moved the two smallest into the school yard to make it easier to empty them. Grorud church in the background.

In this classroom I'm going to have the department for electrics, tools and other things that don't fit into the other departments.

We get in quite many weird things. Some things are even brand new or unused, some things are just old enough to be really worthless, some things are old enough to be really valuable. I guess this one is in the latter category:

It seems to work, but unfortunately we couldn't find any 78 rpm records to play on it. This seems to be an original player, we had another one a year ago but it was a modern-built replica. That time we did test it, and I found it really amazing, it was far louder than what I had expected. Remember, those devices are totally unplugged, no electric amplification, no energy except for the handcranked wind-up-energy.

At the other end, we have things like this ... we could as well have thrown it at once, it's not going to be sold.

Still quite some mess. Usually we're quite done sorting things at this time of the day, but I was working alone most of the time, so things have been going slowly.

This is also a think of the past ... but we may be lucky enough that some retro-lover will come and buy it

My youngest daughter is also helping putting the lamps in the lamp section

Personally I really love this series ... and this one is red! Back in the early 80s, almost everyone had one of those, exactly the same model, but usually grey. No power needed, except for what's coming from the thin phone wires. The ring voltage was actually quite high, I remember I was doing some "work" on the phone wires as a child, and got a hefty electric jolt when someone was calling at the wrong time. I'm not sure if it's still working, but the last working grey phone I had I took to St. Petersburg, and we still used it there for local calls around 2005.

This phone follows Norwegian and international standards, but actually the Oslo-standard was different! The turning table starts with 9 and ends with 0 at Oslo phones! That's pretty insane.

Now it's past 22:00 already, and kids aren't in bed yet. We'll continue tomorrow early morning. I hope we'll get time to make it orderly and nice here before the customers comes and mess up things again.

All photos available in better resolution on IPFS QmQdrqVGdN37JAZe8u5kJ4EFZsyPBD7UeBjtJeqKSAgFK1. License: CC BY-SA 4.0

Sort:  

I miss the old grey one from the 80s, but never seen a red one before. A real retro gem!

Come buy it :-)

I was considering it strongly, because I really love that phone, but something came up. I bet it was sold rather quickly. If you have some antique silver at depressed price I will come tomorrow:)

It wasn't sold quickly, but it was sold.

Another red one came up on our fleemarket this weekend. Sadly it disappeared rather quickly, and I have no idea what it went for

Damn! I have to keep looking then. Congrats with getting the Mayor in Prague btw.

I remember buying some cookies from such a fleemarket last year. Don't know what the cause was, but the cookies were good and the little girls selling said that they backed them.
In Germany there were also markets like these, but with no noble cause involved. It was just stuff that people didn't need anymore at house and sold for making an extra euro.
The initiative is great both for the school orchestra and for people who would collect antiques or to find bargains that have a pretty good value.

It's really a great way to distribute things to those who can't afford these expenses things, They can get these used things at the cheap price.
It's another way to spread happiness.

Ha. I had one of those old phones growing up except it was black..

Cool phonograph.. I hope ya'll sell it for a lot.

So far we didn't manage to sell it for a lot.

The biggest problem is the dome, it's not original, it doesn't fit very well, and it's different metal.

Also, we don't have a 78-record to try on it. One of my colleagues tried with an ordinary LP ... well, that LP got quite destroyed ...

That is some haul you have their buddy. Good thing that you are sharing the love - of course within reasonable prices :-)
Would have loved to have been there if not for the matter of a several hundred kilometers.

Very good job @tobixen, I am very happy to see a very useful work as you do, I really hope others can do so, but that's their choice,
Good job, may god bless you @tobixen

That's an awesome thing you're doing, giving the things a chance at a second life. Kind of reminds me of toy story a little except these things aren't really toys but still have character

That's a sweet phonograph, I don't think I've ever seen one in person before; seems like a valuable piece of history that all museums need as they're interactive

did not now the phone thing. its a bit on trivial pursuit questions but now a can use it :).
a got most of my city bikes form the fleemarkest mabye not like this one but its always somebody ho left there old retro rode bike form 80s there good times. found some gold over the years.

Kids are the best elements of everyone's life. When my mind is not ok, I go to my kids. A great satisfaction comes to me for making them happy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61896.22
ETH 2413.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66