You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dear Steemit Songwriters ... I Have Never Written an Original Song Before and am Looking for Advice on How to Start

in #originalmusic6 years ago

Hi there, My name is Priscilla Hernandez, I have two released albums of my own songs. I have one video on my introductory post but just joined here and I'm new around so I haven´t even uploaded to dtube yet. I don´t believe there is a rule for writing songs but from my point of view you have to "feel" its yours and born from the spirit. I never obsess or think "I'm going to write a hit" (maybe I should? hahah) but I also appreciate the raw freedom of those daring pieces that don´t follow the same pattern). Enjoy the feeling of creating songs that are meaningful (at least to you) and I'm sure that way it will touch the right strings in others. About my process, sometimes I write random lines or ideas in a notebook, and they join together almost by their will. I think I have notebooks full of free writing, but most of the times I start with the melody. I hike a lot in Nature and they come spontaneously, if the melody knocks twice in my brain, it´s usually a keeper. I even record sometimes versions without lyrics for structure reference. Then I build the words so they also keep honest to the way it was flowing where it had the freedom of having no words. I struggle more with the fitting of the lyrics to the notes than anything else. But every case is different, and I suggest to take advice just as advice and go for it your own way, we make our own path as we walk it. I may add I'm a composer in ethereal/ambient/fantasy so no mainstream structure is usually found in my songs (we are all still learning). Good luck!

Sort:  

Thanks you so much sharing insights to your process! I love the idea of scribbling random thoughts and musings into a notepad. Going for a walk in the woods also sounds like a great way to rest the mind and find inspiration.

I really appreciate you taking time to share your thoughts and advice with me! ❤️

You are welcome. As I said, I think everyone must find their own way. I uploaded a video "the making of a song part 1" and it´s a series about how I turn an improvised melody to a final song, so that first part is about an improvisation outdoors and first moments at the studio turning into piano, but forthcoming ones will cover production, lyrics, recording and well, just if you find it interesting, there it is. I cannot add much except, go for it, feel it, shape it...!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65834.37
ETH 3292.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70