New Original Music - "Soul Searching" - Official Release

This is the official release of "Soul Searching". You may recognize this song from one of my open mic entries.

I've been extremely busy this past month and haven't been able to post on here. I've mostly just been reading posts and commenting. I did manage to get this song finished on new years eve after I finished my work for the day. While every one else was partying, I was working.

This tracks not perfect but I felt it is at a standard worth sharing. I played with the pans on the instrumental and backing tracks to open and close the song during and between verses. It's a technique I learned recently in my studies. I would have liked to mix the vocals a little better, with better levels in certain parts. The hardest part was the EQ on the instrumental track because the frequencies were peaking and distorting in the background. Took me a while playing around with different filters to get rid of the distortion without destroying the beat. This song has been a lengthy process. I feel it's a huge milestone in my passion for music but I'm still not there yet. There is many things for me to learn moving forward but I feel I'm getting there.

You can buy this track here.

Support Steemit Musicians


Thomas Te Aroha Kohi

Owner/Producer, Thirsty Records | Hip Hop Artist | Entrepreneur

Born in New Zealand and resides in Australia, Thomas writes about many different subjects, mostly about those that affect him at the time. He likes to philosophize about each subject and does the same in his music. Addicted to knowledge though no scholar, Thomas tries to be original & true in his quest to better himself.
Follow him here for more

Sort:  

Hello @senseiteekay,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

As a fellow soundman I know the struggles a producer faces to make all the different elements of a track lend together properly.

Are you using side chain compression on your kick / snares and whatnot? Depending on the genre you can get some really awesome mixes by sidechaining your other tracks to dip or raise depending on the effect you're going for.

I used a submix for the reverb but didn't add a compressor to it. I could have but it made the beat sound empty. It's because I had to use an export of the instrumental, instead of the individual stems. Kinda sucks cause if I could have mixed the stems separately I would have been able to apply filters to each, or the specific stems that are distorting.

What DAW are you using man?

Pro tools first. It's has a limit to the amount of tracks I can work with, and is why I couldn't place all the stems for the instrumental.

Ahh. I used it briefly but am a FL10 fanboy.

Been using fruity loops since 8.0.0 I think. It's certainly come a long way.

Wonderfulll!!!! Well done:)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.16 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 02 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74