You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dear Steemit Songwriters ... I Have Never Written an Original Song Before and am Looking for Advice on How to Start

Well, I think you should start with melody and rhythm. When you get that you should go into your feelings and emotions, look for what you want to express and write it down in simple words, sentences or anything. After that you structurize it into that previous melody that you constructed. If you have an instrumental first it's also good to get inspired by it. Generally speaking - it's much easier if you have the music first and then go with lyrics. I'm writing things for 5 years by now and after training my skills I'm finally up to showing up soon. I keep my fingers crossed for you as well. Do what you want to do and don't you dare even thinking about the consequences. Okay, you may worry if you think that some of your actions might make you starve. Or actually.. even if you'll be starving - don't worry. Passion and dedication can make you go through all of the worst things with your chin up and win.

Sort:  

Wow, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and insights with me. Thanks for sharing your approach, and that starting with the music is a lot easier. I also really like the idea of looking at my emotions for inspiration on the lyrics. I’m sure that is a great way to make sure it really comes from the heart.

I would love to hear some of your original music sometime! Please let me know if you ever post, because I would love to check it out. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13