ORIGINAL MUSIC / Moskau - My Body, My Way

in #originalmusic7 years ago

Another song I wrote with my band Moskau.
It's a love song with a twist.

da6.jpg

I always wanted to write a ''straight forward'' love song but it always
seem too ''cheap'' or too ''cheesy''. You know, all the usual ''I love you,
you don't love me'', ''you left me but I'm still here'', ''I drink to forget you'',
''every night in my dreams I only dream of you'' and ''I'm heartbroken''
sort of stuff. So I wrote the music on my piano and transposed it to a
band formation and thought about how to ''twist the lyrics''.

I took the usual motives: drinking, dreaming, forgetting, trying
weeping and all that comes with heartbreak and put them in
a new relation. This time, all the motives were in a relation to
themselves rather than to ''her'' or to ''the heartbreak''.
Since we have two lead singers (me and Django) I also decided
to put in a spoken word part where all the motives would be
summed up and recited on top of the chorus.

Here are the lyrics and the song video below.

Enjoy!

MY BODY, MY WAY

I drink till I had enough
I forget I was drinking
I dream till I had enough
I forget I was dreaming of you

I try and strangle
the life of the memory,
the stench, the stagnant cross.

I weep till I had enough
I forget I was weeping
I try till I had enough
I forget I was trying for you

I try to envision the Garden of Eden
and God for eternity sitting in silence
and in my chest nothing but smoke
and nothing but nothing.

My Body, My Way
[I stick the needle in]
My Body, My Way
[I stick the needle in]
My Body, My Way
[How low do you think you go?]
My Body, My Way
[How long do you plan to go on?]

I try and murder the life of the memory,
the seed, the conception, invincible demon,
the stench and the stagnant cross,
and try to envision the void into darkness
and God for eternity sitting in silence
and in my chest nothing but smoke
and nothing but nothing

[My body is a cage
and I forever hold it
it's my way or no way
for you to behold it]
My Body, My Way
[it's smoke and it's darkness
if God's good for something
I don't ask for much
but it's better than nothing]
My Body, My Way
[the drinking and dreaming,
the weeping and crying,
the garden of Eden,
the sitting and dying]
My Body, My Way
[Enough is enough,
how low do I go,
enough is enough
and the needle is slow]
My Body, My Way

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64