You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dear Steemit Songwriters ... I Have Never Written an Original Song Before and am Looking for Advice on How to Start

in #originalmusic6 years ago

I'm Homeschooling my kiddos and multitasking while they're busy, so I can't watch their videos, but I have to tell you. I've been there. I used to write poems and lyrics when I was a teenager, but I never shared it. Then at 20, I was asked to sing in a rock band performing covers and originals. The other musicians were so awesome! They were welcoming and we would just jam for hours. They would start with some riffs while I rifled through pages of stuff until a word or a sentence stood out to me. The point is not to overthink it. I can't tell you how many original songs remind me of other songs. It's just the way it is. We all hear things and process things differently.
My last bit of advice is to try what I call meditative journaling. Keep a notepad by your bed and when you wake in the morning, start writing first thing. Don't think, just write. Even if it's something like this, "This is so stupid. I can't think of anything to say. What am I doing? Nothing. Nothing..yada-yada..." It sounds pointless, but you will release some of your inner critic and eventually start moving on to more meaningful writing. Best of luck to you!

Sort:  

Wow, thank you so much for the detailed and thoughtful advice! Especially since you’re in the middle of multitasking AND homeschooling right now!

The rock band you were part of sounds like such an amazing experience. I can definitely see how surrounding yourself with people who encourage your creativity would help that piece to blossom. 😊

Also, thanks for reassuring me that I shouldn’t worry too much about my song sounding like someone else’s. That is comforting to hear.

I also really LOVE your advice to start journaling when I first wake up. My sleepy, tired brain is less likely to judge what comes out on paper. I can imagine that would be a great exercise to get more used to free flow writing.

Thank you again for your great advice and feedback! Good luck with the rest of the school day! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66751.68
ETH 3487.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.03