Other Days (original)

in #originalmusic7 years ago

I wrote a bunch of songs when I was much younger and I still like a few of them just enough to share. Just a little background - not so sure it stands alone:

During a period of three years or so, starting when I was around nineteen and still living in the states, I was getting together with two great friends of mine for weekly jam sessions, most often at Johns' studio apartment. He was a collector of finely aged barn wood and very old hand tools, and had two walls worth of both decorating the main room. I wrote this song about that period in my Montréal apartment a few years later. I still think about those other days often........

Other Days

Then there are times we reminisce
Stories retold of days which we miss
Who can I tell and who would understand
Those outrageous highs the best in the land

Sitting down and playing guitars with good friends, mine 'til the end
Standing 'round, complimenting songs, making waves with just the right bend
Feeling sound and talking 'bout things on the walls, I hope they don't fall

I can hear that music call

I hope I don't fall out here in the hall
I've had a few beers 'cause spring just sprung tall
I know that tomorrow I'll be propping up walls

Thinking loud and exposing our fears, through the smoke and the years
Gaining ground, telling some good jokes, some bad, we laughed through the tears
Singing soft and staring barn boards in the eyes, we thought we could fly

I remember well and sigh

I sing to you both, hell I sing to you all
If you're in town please give me a call
I hope I don't fall out here in the hall
I've had a few beers 'cause spring just sprung tall

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69