My First Steemit Post

in #originalcontent7 years ago (edited)

Hi folks, another newbie here! I've been lurking a little before jumping in. I know many (or most) of my tsufamily are here, and they have been telling me to get onboard!

I am a photographer from Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. I like to shoot all kinds of subjects but nature and landscape are my favourites.

In the attached photo you can see a male Oregon Dark-Eyed Junco (Junco hyemalis oreganus). I captured this photo in my own backyard, after setting up a little "stage" for the birds. I gathered some moss covered branches and set up this little natural bird feeder. I first paid attention to the background which is a cedar hedge. I visualized exactly where I would like the bird to be.... and that's where I sprinkled some bird seed! My camera was set up on a tripod, and for the next FOUR HOURS I sat there with a remote shutter release in my hand... waiting, waiting, waiting... Finally, a Junco appeared and sat in the exact spot I had visualized while I managed to capture 20 or more shots!

I also made a gif of this little scene but I'm not sure if Steemit supports gifs? Let me know if you'd like to see the gif (or an mp4 if that's what is needed) I hope you enjoy my first post and I hope to connect with all my friends in the near future! Thank you!

DSC_5928.jpg

About the photo... Nikon D750, 600mm, 1/160 sec, f/6.3, ISO 1000

Sort:  

Welcome, Keith! I am so excited to see that you finally made it here! Your post is an awesome one to come out with.

Your nature shots rock my world. Good luck and don't forget that if you need anything, you know how to find me!

Upvoted and Resteemed Tip!

Thank you so much Denise! You're the one who got me here, so get ready for a flood of questions! :) And thank you for the tip... I'm so new I don't know what that means, but it sounds good!

Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

Glad you made it ! Get ready for your 1st payday in 7 Days :) ... not like on that "other" site !

Thank you Steve! I followed you... I have a lot to learn here but it looks very interesting... a whole new world! :)

Welcome! I do remember you from TSU. Your work is superb. I will happily follow you.

Yes Steemit supports gifs. Just drag and drop like a pic. Feel free to ask questions.

Thanks so much for the vote! (I'm new enough to not understand what that means!) I have followed you as well. I'm off to read a bunch of FAQ's... I look forward to seeing your work :)

I think it's worth 4 hours of waiting :) Welcome :)

Thanks so much for the comment and vote!

Great first post mate, lovely looking bird, cheers mike

Thanks very much Mike, I have just followed you.

That's a beautiful bird, and the composition is spot on. :) I would love to shoot birds but don't have the reach. My son "borrowed" my long lens and I've yet to get it back. (I might have to invest in a new one I guess...)

And I forgot. Welcome to Steem!

Thank you for the kind welcome! The composition was easy since I was planning for where the bird "should" go... I was lucky that the bird actually did what I wanted! :)

Thank you at @gamer00 for your generous upvotes on my posts!

No problem. Good photos deserve some recognition. :)

Welcome to the new tsuhome :)

Hello! Welcome on Steemit.

Thank you Ileana, happy to see you as well :)

I am a little lost here!

Me too, but a little bit less than I was yesterday :)

I'm glad you are back Ileana ! ^_^
catgirl.png and @luigi-the-gnome told me you had a coffee together ! ;-)

Hi former Tsu friend! Recognized your face immediately! Please don't tell me the same, here I'm a frog, LOL, at Tsu I was under my real identity with a real picture of myself. 😆 Nice to see you here and much success!

Well hello froggie! I mean former unknown Tsu friend! Can you give me any further hint as to your former I.D.? :)

I'd like to know too @keithboone Fess up @coquiniunlimited The suspense is killing us. lol

😂👌 I'm gathering you're from Tsu as well, maybe that's why your name seemed so familiar.

Yes, I'm an ex-Tsu member. Thank you for revealing your identity. The realNikkiG is vaguely familiar but the @coquiunlimted rang a bell too. Good to see that you are very established here and I look forward to keeping in touch. Cheers!

I'm following you. ♥

LOL, I went under different aliases. But you mainly knew me under the realNikkiG. However, I always signed my work with the name I use here. ;)

Now I know who you are! How cool is this to meet everyone on a different site :)

Most definitely. Happy to see another one of my favorite photographers finally onboard. @erikbolding is here as well you might remember him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69