Steemit Open Mic Week 52: Too Complicated (original)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #original7 years ago

I’m doing a bit of traveling this week so I’m not on my usual “Open Mic” schedule of entering early and getting a jump on listening to all the entries for the week – but I’ll do my best to catch up as soon as time permits.

I am especially looking forward to listening to and watching @verbal-d’s reproduction of the song that inspired this wonderful venue one year ago – a venue and community that has had a profoundly positive impact on my life for a multitude of reasons.

Aside from the fact that it’s my birthday week (29-September), and even though it’s merely “just a week” - much like any other week, I nonetheless felt compelled to make somewhat of a big deal over the one-year milestone of the Open Mic venue here in the infamous week #52.

To make any sort of a splash worthy of such a landmark, I figured that I had to do an original song, get a decent audio sound, and provide as much of a fun and entertaining video production that I could possibly muster with my limited skills.

Ironically, this rather simple song called, “Too Complicated,” is quite shallow in its meaning - and extremely brief - but I’m hoping that everyone will find it fun, entertaining, and amusing to one extent or another.

At the end of the day, this is what I came up with for week #52:

         _**Too Complicated**_
               
               It’s complicated.
               Too Complicated…
               It’s complicated…
        
Said you wanna; - you’d like to see me.
You said you would; - but you couldn’t please me.

       It’s complicated!              
    Rang the bell and no one was home.
                    Too Complicated!              
    Thought that I would get you alone-  
                     It’s complicated! 
         
            So I can tell you what I’d do; – 
            I’d set it up so it’s just me and you.              
           
                   It’s complicated!              
    Rang the bell and no one was home.
                    Too Complicated!              
    Thought that I would get you alone-  
                     It’s complicated! 

                        _LEAD BREAK_

   So what I say; – I’ll say to you.
   Do what you wanna do.
   However now and then; 
   Don’t know why; - I don’t know when.

   I thought I’d have you all alone; – 
   Rang the bell – no one’s home…

                    Too Complicated!              
                    It’s Complicated!
                    Too Complicated!              
                    It’s complicated!

PS
You might be wondering; who’s that playing the lead guitar break? Is that Passion-Ground! Yes, it’s me! Let me explain… I wrote this song well over a year ago and did a real rough recording of it at that time - prior to acquiring all of my current home studio equipment. As such, although I’ve recently re-recorded and re-mixed the entire production, I did leave in my slightly younger self performing the lead break, which explains my shorter hair and slightly different look – sparkling leather jacket and all.

There was just something more visually pleasing to me captured in my original performance of the guitar solo – so I thought I’d re-use it here vs. my using my latest version – blending just a little bit of the old with most all of the new.

_Until next time, to all my fellow Steemian Musicians who labor tirelessly in the name of love for music – thank you for doing what you do! I so appreciate all of your artistic efforts and talent!

And as always, thank you @pfunk & @luzcypher for making this all possible…

PEACE, LOVE, & JUSTICE for ALL…_

Sort:  

Cool song!
Good job!

Thank you, Tom!

Happy Birthday @passion-ground!

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Yes!!! There's always room in my world for "uncomplicated" tunes that put a smile on your face. Top effort as always @passion-ground. I almost thought you had a cameo from the late Prince when the sparkly jacket first appeared 😆

Cool... glad you got it, Trevor - Thanks!

Thank you kindly, Luzcypher - and Happy Birthday to "Open Mic!"

What's not complicated is that this song is wicked. You're a bad man PG! I watched this with a smile on my face the whole time. I love the throw back to the younger PG. This will be the best post I'll see today, I'm confident of that. Keep being awesome my musically talented friend!!!

You rock, @goldenarms - thank you kindly, brother!

PG if u need a good read I'd love to have u check out my Diary of an Assain series. It's the hottest written shit to hit Steemit since ever! I hope I sold it enuff? :) Cheers

Steemit is so much fun! And a song about complexity theory:D

That it is! Much thanks, Andrew! :-)

thanks alot man, that was real fun !

Thanks... glad you enjoyed it!

👏👏👏👏 Love it! And now I've got an ear worm of the refrain "...complicated" probably because it is quite the contrary. I love a multi-instrumentalist mate, nice one. 😏 Have a great birthday week my friend and do anything you might unreasonably expect me to do! 😉🍷🍷🍷🥃🥃👍

Thank you so much, Geoff! I'll do my best in taking your sage advice too... :-)

super cool my friend... rock on @passion-ground !!!

Thanks for appreciating my simplicity, Meno!

This was fun to watch and listen to, great job!

As a side note I noticed my upvote brought you up to $6.66 cents, your welcome ;)

Oh, no.... Am I a "marked man" now? Ha-ha.... Thank you!

That was too weird man - your vote of all people (@lk666) turned my total to $6.66... Had to break the spell so I voted for myself... Ha-haaa!!!

Thank you, brother - I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

Wow that is a bad ass track. Really love your production. Your home studio is rocking man. I wish I had the power to vote a 100 $ .

Cheers !!!

What you just said is worth far more than $100 my friend... thank you from the bottom of my heart! "Priceless!"

A nice upvote from me!
Questa canzone mi piace proprio!

Thank you, Donatello!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56