You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Originality vs authenticity

Inspirational article. Resteemed and following. This sentence stood out for me @catonwheels

But I think it's only in the doing itself that we will truly find our authenticity.

Many years ago I heard that when you wish to start something new or need to respond to someone/something, and although you may have a few vague ideas you really don't know where to begin ~ To just do nothing.

Just go on with other things in your life that need your attention. Living your life to the fullest. Absorbing all you see and experience. Trusting in your own subconscious, dreams, intuition and guidance ~ And there will be a time to begin.

I've found, as other 'creative perfectionists' have mentioned, beginning is the hardest part. At this stage it's important to acknowledge the fears and self doubt, so they are out in the open ~ Knowing they are not really you and you don't have to be directed by them, they gradually lose their momentum.

I've never seen myself as a 'writer.' But what I'm finding now is that by sharing my art and photography, I let the images speak to me about themselves ~ See the connections they may have with feelings, situations or symbolism. And this is something that I can then start to write about.

Responding to responses is also a wonderful way to bring out the 'writer.' I have worked in this way via several social media platforms but find Steemit to be hands down THE best way, for me to continue on this journey of becoming 'Original.'

Sort:  

This is such a beautiful comment, thanks so much. It really is so important to just start doing whatever it is you want to do and let the improvements come as you go.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.45
ETH 2345.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47