Origami - Improvement journey part 1

in #origami6 years ago (edited)

I got an intermediate origami book last winter holidays and tried out some models. This time I want to fold all of them concentrating on my mistakes and possible improvements. I don't have any fancy paper but I'll make some for the next part since there are models that require tissue-foil in this book.
1.jpg
The first model is this bird, It was pretty simple but there were some estimated folds which I'm not a fan of.
2.jpg
3.jpg
I messed up the tail slightly since at first I folded till the top and the line is visible. I angled the head a bit too much forward.
4.jpg
5.jpg
I didn't see a step in the middle since there were a few in one image. That's why the tail looks a bit weird and crumpled, I tried fixing it but it just made it worse. I'm really messing up the tails on these 😕
6.jpg
7.jpg
I really like this model but some of the steps are pretty confusing, especially the head which is really hard to puff up with standard printer paper. I couldn't figure out the hind legs so I improvised a bit.
8.jpg
9.jpg
10.jpg
This was the hardest model yet in this book. I definitely need a different paper for this. The top image looks like wet folding, I might try it and post an update . The tail is very hard to fold that this since there are a lot of layers under and the head hold in place like the picture (nothing a little glue can't fix 😗).
These were some cool models, next part will have some harder stuff, expect a lot of crumpled paper.
Thanks for reading 😀

Sort:  

Looks like you've got a serious instructing tool in that book. The sea turtle turned out especially well, and the horseshoe crab looks good too. The tails on those crabs are tricky! Crumpled paper is all part of the game ☺

This book is a real piece of work, I gave up on a few of these (don't get some steps or require large paper which I'm not comfortable with). I really like the sea turtle, I'll post one of my favorite models in the book tomorrow ^^

I believe it, some diagrams are so vague and unclear they look like they were made by the devil himself. Yes, the turtle turned out very well! I'll check back for what you've got next.

Those are so intricate, cannot wait to see the next ones. You have WAY more patience for those thanI I do!

Thanks, it's a pretty cool book :)


Hi @ivan-g, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Fiber Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Mondays for Coffee Hour at 1pm EDT in the Steemit Fiberartists on Discord or view it live on the Steem Star Network.

Thank you again, I'll try to join <3