Modular Origami Spinner Model

in #origami6 years ago (edited)

I found this in a drawer, think I made it a year ago. It looked interesting so I took it apart, turns out it's made of 6 units each consisting of 2 sheets. The units are surprisingly simple and the assembly is straightforward, only part I struggle with is inserting the last piece. I wouldn't suggest using squares smaller than 9cm if you're inexperienced.

6.jpg

Make a waterbomb base and a bird base
1.jpg

2.jpg

Insert waterbomb base inside the bird base (evenly distribute the inner flaps)
3.jpg

Fold the corners in
4.jpg

spread out the corners, this is the top view
5.jpg

Just five more and done :)
If anyone knows what this model is called help is appreciated.
Thanks for checking out my post and maybe try folding it ^^

Sort:  

@ivan-g you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Thank you :)

This is in my favorite origami book: The origami handbook by Rick Beech and is called the Spinner designed by Lewis Simon.
As it suggests it spins very well. It is also hilarious to watch other people try to get it to spin for the first time. If you are waiting with a crowd of people I highly recommend making one.

To get it to spin, hold the two points between flat hands |<>| and blow firmly towards the top.

Knew you'd know it with the type of models you make xD
Excited to check out the book, wonder where I first found it. Used to search around a lot of random books.
do you by any chance know this, made it ages ago, uses 3 different units:
1.jpg
Really want to make it again, was a japanese book with modular stuff.

Omg, just made it spin with the blowing, so awesome :D
(also got my sister to try it, failing xD )
and just found out Lewis is the guy that made the hollow cube :O

I have had a flip through my books and while I can find two different types of architectural models they are different to the one you are showing in that the bar is enclosed not open, the top is the same, but neither of them show the centre connection at all. The books you can rule out are Polyhedron Origami for Beginners by Miyuki Kawamura and Origami Handbook by Paul Jackson.

Here is one that I have folded:
20180716_230332.jpg

nice colors :)

Thank you. It was a lot of fun and brought back good memories.

... life goals for me @ivan-g... I've got a few abandoned unfinished attempts to re-visit :D
Truly inspirational... I shall tell you when I manage to 'finish' my attempts... they're not worth it at the moment ...

I have an unfinished dragon from 2-3 years ago I found in a box xD
Make sure to post and tag when you finish ^^

🌺Thank you @ivan-g... that makes me feel better, and yes, I will do :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kristyglas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01