Designing Modular Origami

in #origami6 years ago

1.jpg

Modular origami is a subcategory which uses multiple sheets of paper to make more complex models.
These are my first attempts of designing my own units/models inspired by two models I recently made posts on:
This one

IMG_3936.JPG

And this

IMG_3938.JPG

I wanted to design a unit that was a combination of these two, gaps on inside and on corners which in theory would make a very unstable model. There are a few things to consider: Paper ratio, corner gap size, inside gap size. I used 7cm paper for all of these(7x3,5cm for the 1:2 ratio model). Another issue was the difference of the bases of the two models, since I got the general idea I decided to use the star model base.
This is what I mean by base for the units:

2.jpg

Here's the first design.

IMG_3941.JPG

IMG_3942.JPG

How I made the unit:
3.jpg

I decided to straight up just try adding corner gaps on the star model. This is when I figured out how the angle of the flaps/pockets determines the angle of the shapes, because I was changing the angle to add the gaps it made it too small for a dodecahedron(30 units) giving a four corner structure(12 units) instead. Another problem I figured out only later is that the flaps were too short making it nearly impossible to assemble without glue. To make it stable the flaps have to pass the middle line(so it gets hooked around the corner on the inside). Another important thing to keep in mind is that you're supposed to have a consistent point of reference to where to fold the flaps since otherwise the pieces wouldn't fit together.

For reference, The distance labeled 1 determines the corner gap size while 2 determines the inner gap.
IMG_3965.JPG

Here's the second:

IMG_3943.JPG

IMG_3945.JPG

IMG_3966.JPG
IMG_3967.JPG

I decided to try a different approach, base from the star unit, no gap on the inside but holes on the corners which ended up looking like a four leaf clover. This is also the simplest one to make from all four.

Third:

IMG_3947.JPG

IMG_3952.JPG

4.jpg

This is what I envisioned when I wanted to combine the two models, The reference lines add a nice snowflake effect, it's really flexible, fun to throw around. Only problem is the flaps are very short so there's glue here too, I'm not too bothered about using glue since I also do papercraft. This is also where the reference point became important, since by using a square and dividing the paper into quarters this way you can't pivot the flap to reach the middle shown in the second step. To circumvent this I divided the top into half and used that line as a reference instead as seen in the third step.

Fourth:

IMG_3948.JPG

IMG_3949.JPG

5.jpg

This is my final design, really happy with this one too since it's the first one that requires no glue. It uses the ideas from the second and third model, despite being concave it's relatively strong and stable when finished. The reason this one works is that the corners aren't forming 90 degree angles, by reversing the middle joint you could make it convex as well but would be very difficult to assemble.

Thank you @gmatthe2 for inspiring me to try designing something new.

Thanks for reading :)

Sort:  

That is super cool, I love origami, I made like 300 cranes before I went into the hospital for one of my surgeries, I wanted to do a 1000 but never got there.

Takes a lot of patience to get to 1000, even 300 is quite a lot, good job :D

@ivan-g thanks, and congrats on the curie, they got to you before we could which is great for you, I will keep an eye out for you in the future :D

Thank you :)

Yay! For designing your own modular origami :) My favourites are number two and number three. Very cool.

My fave are 3 and 4, tnx :)
Would be cool to figure out how to make 3 without glue :/

love this post, @ivan-g :D very creative and very instructive ! at once <3 and the results are very pretty, also <3

Thank you <3

Amazing work, as usual! I love to see your paper craft work. The colors you chose are so soothing.

Thank you, I love blue and since I have a bad sense for colors I try not to mix more than 2-3 :)

Wow, this has to be the most complex origami I've seen. Great job!!

Thanks, and nice of you to resteem :D

No problem, I just think this kinda art should be shown is all

I really like the modular origami @ivan-g... I'm still working on the other models, but it's all very inspiring - thanks !

Thanks, can't wait to see them, you can share photos in my comments or even better make a post when you finish some :)

This is so cool!!! Really glad you're making up your own models now :D

Wow.. I like all the designs @ivan-g. These would make nice ornaments for the Xmas tree :)

Thanks, I'll consider adding them to my tree this year, a bit big though xD

Nice, looks like a lot of work!

Tnx, was more like playing around seeing what works.

Hi ivan-g,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you very much :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45