The Origami Forum September Challege

in #origami6 years ago

Yesterday I joined an origami forum through the android app called Tapatalk
https://snkhan.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11342

This forum seems to be quite active with two current challenge.

The first is a monthly challenge where you create a new model to a set theme. The September theme is minimalism and here is my entry titled - Emerging Sea Creature
image

This model is based on the spring toy by Jeff Baynon @ivan-g posted for my origami contest on steemit which can be found here: https://steemit.com/origami/@ivan-g/origami-contest-entry

The original model is made by dividing an A4 into 6 parts and then dividing by 16.

As the above contest calls for square paper this is what I started with. I was going to initially submit a corrugated bus stop, however I would have had to use a rectangle to make the second wall
image

Instead I continued with the bare minimum of Jeff Baynon's design dividing the paper in two and then rotating 90 degrees and dividing into 16. I have tried 8 divisions however the spiral stops in a pacman shape instead of going all the way around.

I then proceeded to add the diagonal creases.

The sea creature comes to shape after the first half of the paper is collapsed into shape. To let it sit upright I cheated a little as the magic of cameras lets you get away with ugly folds at the back.

If I was to develop this model properly I would work to shape the body and add a tail.

The forum and competition is free to join and I have been treated well as a complete newbie :)

Sort:  

Hey hey! Still making some lovely stuff! I was recently in Japan, and I got some books and some nice paper for my little girl!

I have dropped by to support you as you were featured by @aiyumi for the @pifc contest!

Thank you. I will be trying to make more videos in the future. Especially of the simplier models I make.

Hi @gmatthe2 wonderfully done pieces. The post and your origami piece. Enjoyed both and very glad you found a forum to help with the origami.

As you know @aiyumi featured you in this week's @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest. If you're looking to grow in the community, please take a look at what we do @pifc, we would love to have you be a part of our initiative.

Thank you @tryskele I will definitely try and give it a go.

That is great to hear. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to ask. There are so many ways to be involved that help other and yourself.

De nuevo en acción, buen modelo te felicito ;) mi voto

I love origami but I don't know how to build it.

@aiyumi brings me here. I followed you to see your future post. good luck and steem on.

Thank you, @mmunited my next post will be up soon :) my advice for origami is start with something fun and not more than ten to twenty steps. @kristyglas jumping frog is a good one to start with. I started with the traditional origami piano, but it was the traditional masu box that I fell in love with. Piano
Masu box
Frog

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @mmunited.

Very interesting work.
I found your post from @aiyumi's Pay it Forward curation contest entry. Keep up the great work!

Found you through @aiyumi's entry for the @pifc.
I'm not into origami, but you have a very pleasant way of explaining how and what you do. I enjoyed reading your post.

Thank you, @simplymike I enjoy what I do, and I am hopefully improving with each tutorial.

Thanks for the great info! I found your post because you were featured by @aiyumi for the @pifc contest for this week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57930.87
ETH 2362.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36