Origami Bookmark Fail

in #origami6 years ago (edited)

ORIGAMI DRAGON BOOKMARK by Jo Nakashima
https://m.youtube.com/channel/UC3ICcukYYeSn26KlCRnhOhA

So, this is an absolutely gorgeous boomark by Jo Nakashima with some of the clearest instructions I have ever seen.

I chose this model to enter @kristyglas bookmark competition https://steemit.com/contest/@kristyglas/random-games-week-6

This tutorial asks for 30cm by 15cm foil tissue paper.

I have 5cm by 5cm foil paper which I cut in half. Why I decided this was a suitable substitute the world will never know.

I started strong. The bookmark end started to shape and the body of the dragon started to appear.

I formed the tail folded it in half and gave it the required curl. I then knew that I was in trouble.

The folds to position and shape the wings were never going to happen. The folds to create the ears and narrow the tail were too ridiculous to even contemplate.

I cut my losses and did my best to give my poor dragon some wings and a head resulting in him looking more like a half dragon half crane creature.

20180707_194818.jpg

I may not be proud of him but I will still use him as a bookmark and enter him in the competition.

20180707_194857.jpg

I will definitely try this model again. Once I have the right size paper. :)

Sort:  

The bookmark is sooooo cute @gmatthe2! How did you manage to fold it so small? It doesn't look failed to me.. It serves as a cute little bookmark for a fitting origami book :)

Thank you @marblely. It's certainly not the worst thing I have folded (that would be the eldrich crane monster which was meant to be a crane mobile), but what attracted me to the model was the cute little ears and the arching bat like wings which I was unable to complete due to my paper size. At this stage as well the foil paper was starting to visibly wear which was disappointing. I will certainly make another one as I've ordered the paper.

Hello @gmatthe2... The bookmark is great! I love the idea of using origami as jewellery 😊

Thank you :) I love origami jewellery as well and have made a heap of origami earrings. My favourite model to use is the origami brocade by Minako Ishibashi
These are the smallest ones I've made:
20180204_085642.jpg

They look really tiny @gmatthe2, fabulous !

I think it's great and very cute and fits very nicely with your book :D That foil color is a magnificent red.
Thank you for participating! ^^

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by -Killua from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great work. Any origami toucan?

Hi @Jacinta.sevillla my apologies for the late reply. There are many origami toucan's ranging in difficulty. This one here by Ivan Danny Handoko seems like a happy middle ground:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/ivandanny/20548670229

If you decide to give it a go I would love to see a picture.

Any particular reason for the toucan or is it a more general love of birds?

Its a bit unique. And i love animals. Haha i made origami roses ill try this soon hahaha

As long as you have fun :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47