November Origami Forum Challege - Masks

in #origami5 years ago (edited)

The origami forum November Challenge is to create new masks, hats or crowns for the month of November.

It is a little quite this month with folders still participating in the International Origami Internet Olympiad, which really, really nails down your skill level when it comes to folding.

I will definitely participate next year and try to bring my own creative skills to bear rather than just trying to fold the model as presented, but sadly it will still be many years before I am bringing home medals for Australia.

This month for the challenge I have submitted two designs.

The first a little animal mask/finger puppet

image

The second a samurai like hat

image

This last one came as a surprise as I was actually aiming for an angel.

Designing an angel is surprisingly hard, I now have the dubious honour of having designed a bug angel, an assassin's creed angel, a face hugger angel and a busty angel all of which are precisely not what I wanted.

TeamAustralia Slim Banner

SB_new.png

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gmatthe2 (Grace) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

That little finger puppet looks adorable, good job!

Hah I remmeber doing origami with my mum when younger...but they were definitely not worth submitting into any challenge hah :D

#steemitbloggers

You have more fine motor control and patience now, than when you were a kid. You might surprise yourself.

true. but also less time :D Altho where the priorities are, the time appears :D dunno, maybe in the future :D

These are sooooo cute! :D
BB
#steemitbloggers

Quite talent you have. The smaller it is the harder it is and to get all those little folds... You won't see me doing it lol.

Everyone has their own talents, do what brings you joy.

My kids do this. I find I don't have the patience, even though I love the outcome and wonder how anyone ever came up the ideas.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

I don't know if I have a proper answer for you. For so many years folding was only following the instructions sometimes with success and sometimes without. It was fun, but it wasn't a passion. The only model I experimented with was the origami brocade and I didn't change the unit only the construction. You can make a weirdly flat pincushion like model if you add enough units and you can fuse two spheres together. Then something changed and every night for about a month I started with the fortune teller and tried to make something new more often than not succeeding. I now know how to make two Christmas decorations, connecting boats, spinning tops, windmills, a collapsible cube, triangular gift box with and without handles, a snap into shape sphere a few weird looking solids and a five and eight sided fortune teller it was eye-opening and I haven't looked back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82