Minaturising Philip Shen's Omega Star

in #origami6 years ago

Recently @ivan-g reposted a blog regarding how to fold Omega Star's by Philip Shen inviting everone to see if their folding had improved.

Having another spiky model in front of me I wondered if I could turn the model into earrings.

My first model was made from 6 sheets of 7.5cmx7.5cm paper.

image

To minaturise the model I divided one of the 7.5cm squares into four strips and cut 6 roughly 2cm squares.

image

I then folded each unit.

image

Putting it together was a lot trickier with the smaller model and unfortunately it became clear that it would not be suitable for earrings

image

Flaws which were almost invisible on the larger model were very prominent on the smaller model. In addition the over flaps do not stay wedged inside the dips, but lift becoming messy and obvious.

The two models side by side:
image

Lovely model, but at my skill level not suitable for earrings.

Sort:  

Definitely doable, thinner paper would help, I'll add a picture when I finish :)

Looking forward to seeing them :)

IMG_20180721_153310.jpg
Didn't do that well either. Paper was 7.5cm/4 probably what you used.
Spent way too much time on trying to shape this

It does take a lot longer to shape when it is small. Yours does look a lot tighter and the overflaps are not as prominent. I still don't know if it is suitable for earrings as the last step prior to mounting is adding a sealant to protect the paper from every day handling. The idea of getting an even coat in all those crevices is daunting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94