Origami star model - 191218

in #origami6 years ago

I considered joining @gmatthe2’s origami challenge, but I don’t think I qualify as I honestly do not know the name of the creator of this model. Also what I’m showing is not (at all) perfect.

Over the years I have entertained myself folding bits of paper while waiting in the car, especially when crocheting or knitting feels ‘off season' on hot summer days.

The origami star is a favourite model of mine because it involves a number of skills. You need to make a pentagon and normally you start with a rectangular piece of paper so you need to make a square and from there you cut your pentagon. There are a number of steps and I normally forget one or two as happened below.

You can see my random order photo process below. You can of course look at a superb tutorial here. As I say I do not know who invented this model.

After following these steps, you can have two results : either you get it wrong (first photo below) or you get it right (second photo below). The key is not to give up straight away.

When you have managed to make the pentagon you are ready to make a few more folds to get the star.

My random order photos below show you how I did one of mine.

I’ve actually got better since I started but I’ve really only made a few perfect stars. This makes me keep on practising the model - perhaps one day I will perfect it.

@jen0revision was really keen to learn how to make the stars and had a go. She had more fun playing with the googly eyes afterwards.

I use the 'good' finished stars on cards and on presents (any time of the year).



work by @cryptocariad

Sort:  

hehehe

After following these steps, you can have two results : either you get it wrong or you get it right

Wisdom! Right there... but either way, it's always better if you just put some #GooglyEyes on it!

I even gave photographic evidence there, @googlyeyes 😄. Actually, the 'wisdom' there is not to give up straight away.

never surrender, never give up!

Sometimes, it's a bit hard, but I try hard, @googlyeyes :D

This is adorable and I love seeing all the origamis with googly eyes xD Really gives a new perspective and I've seen a lot of origami thanks to @ivan-g ^^

Thanks, @kristyglas... @ivan-g is the master ! :D

So are you ^^

Can't go wrong with googly eyes. Makes every star a good star :)

Trying them on the star was so funny, @steven-patrick :

@jen0revision struggled a bit to balance the eyes :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77