Origami Journey 8 – Mushroom Detour

Another WIP Bites the Dust

This mushroom model is origami-inspired, hence its 'detour' status on the origami journey. The googly eyes give it a nice dash of silly charm.
steemit-enternamehere-origami-journey-8-mushroom-detour-title.jpg

Its orange counterpart was much easier to fold than the 3-D model by Maarten van Gelder, which is what the red mushroom was originally going to look like.
(Click image for instructions source.)
steemit-enternamehere-origami-journey-8-mushroom-detour-orange.jpg)

This is how the model was intended to look upon completion. I assure you, although my version differs quite a lot from the 'model' model, no sleep will be lost over the matter.

(Click image to view Maarten van Gelder's Origami.)
mvg-origami-mushroom.jpg)

That come-hither stare...
steemit-enternamehere-origami-journey-8-mushroom-detour-red.jpg

Couple of fun guys
steemit-enternamehere-origami-journey-8-mushroom-detour-two-shrooms.jpg

What kind of fun do you have with your crew?

Want more?
Mushroom WIPs - An ENH 2-for-1 Special
Mushroom Basket Still Life - WIP No More
Origami Journey 7 - Hearts


More origami soon to come. Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Heh. Googly eyes make any craft project a success!

Your's has a WHOLE lot more character than the 'model'. Not just the eyes, but the 'I've had a whole lot of TART lemonade just now' look to the mouth. Reminds me of when you make a face with your hand, using the thumb and then make a face with it. So cute.

Yeah, LOL I saw some kind of expression on its face before I stuck on the eyes. It made me laugh a little when I was editing the picture. Glad to hear you got a kick out of it too. Another classic case of pareidolia, eh? ☺

I had to look that one up. But figured what it meant (to a small point of 'figure')...I can see why he/she made you laugh. My first reaction too. I get pareidolia sometimes with hearing something too, maybe that's soundeidolia. Things I mis-hear someone saying, that are funnier than all get-out. Sometimes whole stories are written about them. Or an idea surfaces that would not come out normally. The world is so much fun, isn't it?

The little pretty eyes are so charming! Who do you want to conquer with those?
You make these crafts with such love <3 Spread the love, baby!

Nice! I see your experimentation with origami + non traditional materials continues.

It really adds a lot of personality :)

Hahahah loving those eyes... Really like all the colors you have been using for all the different critters.. right up my alley :)

I've saved the best and brightest colors for the later models! You know there's a whale coming, right?!

By the way, speaking of colorful whales, I saw the grey and brown whales you did recently and it made me think a series of colorful whales would be so right at home with the others. Kind of like the roses you did, only whales. Maybe like some dusty rose whale or golden whale or royalty whale in purple...just spitting out ideas! I know you've got something good up your sleeve.

Damn can't wait to see this whale origami!!! That's a really dope idea, i have done sharks like that in the past, but never whales. Like you said I think it would come out really cool.... time to add to this list hahaha :)

Just like The Neverending Story, yeah my list is the same way!
You're on here bright and early, what time do you get started??

haven't been sleeping much lately so i figured why not be productive haha... i freelance for my job so i have weird hours :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59