Ups and Downs of Being Partially Blind

in #orientation8 years ago (edited)

I'll never forget the day that I had to ask Jay to help me navigate the escalator. It was the first time that I needed help stepping onto one of those things in at least 43 years. In spite of the yellow stripe along the edge of the step, I just couldn’t judge when to step onto the machine. That day, we were at Tanglewood Mall, so thankfully, there weren’t many customers that day. If there had been, my struggle to get on the escalator would have been worse. Crowds can be very distracting - which I really found out several minutes later when we were shopping at the nearby Kroger. I found that I had to stop steering the cart and just walk along while holding onto the side. My depth perception is the problem. But, for other people, including two children that I know of at Oxford Valley Mall, other issues are the problem. So, be mindful about where your clothing, shoes, children, their clothing and shoes, and other things are while riding escalators, and at the very least, keep an eye on your visually impaired friend or family member in case he/she needs assistance entering or exiting the escalator as well.

http://www.popsci.com/science/article/2011-04/fyi-why-are-escalators-so-dangerous

And, as a side note, do the same for the visually impaired when they are attempting to climb a regular staircase as well, because their own visual issues, clothing, shoes, children, and other things (like cats who think nothing about darting between legs and laying on a step) can make maneuvering up and down them difficult as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58695.71
ETH 2633.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49