We Give Food Away For Free. One Of Our "Customers" Came Yesterday Bearing Gifts!

in #organic8 years ago

How cool is this?  About a month ago, a mother and daughter came by our house to pick up some free organic veggies, and eggs.  Whenever we have abundance, I make a sign and put it out on the street alerting the community of our excess.  

I also post in local buy/sell/trade/give groups, and that is how I met the two lovely ladies I'm writing about today.  They actually drove in from Halifax (about a 40 minute drive) just to pick up the organic produce.  


Well, we had a surprise!  My husband came in the house while I was washing dishes and told me I had some visitors.  The ladies were back, and this time bearing gifts!  Homemade chocolate chip cookies (I'm assuming were for our kids...oops...I've been left alone with them for too long) and homemade sweet pickles.  


There are a LOT of good people in this world.  That's one reason that we give away our food, it's so great to talk to so many different people, and food is something that we all have in common.  Everyone agrees the grocery stores are literally robbing people, and we get to spread the ideas of Grow Food Not Lawns & Food Is Free Project.  I have a feeling these ideas will take over soon, you can see in the news, Americans are having their gardens attacked in many cities, for being "ugly".  Really what they don't tell you is:  If we suddenly realize that all we need is each other, and not corporations and the state, it's game over for them!  The idea is simple:  


This is a sign we made and display on our front door, to initiate a food co-op in our community.  I imagine in 5 years one half of houses will be growing small crops of food, or raising animals.


Sort:  

This is wonderful to hear Lyndsey. I had a Free Store (clothing and household items) for a couple years until I moved to a smaller place. I met the most down to earth people and still talk with them all around town. We, as communities have a great resource in people that take the initiative like Lyndsey.

My old town's one church did that in the basement. You could drop off clothing and pick some up when needed.

Oooh I just love the free store idea. I bet you get asked a lot of questions about that. Like: Did anyone abuse it? What did you do if they did? What was your protocol? I find a lot of people are most worried about those kinds of questions. What were your most common questions? How did you handle the "naysayers"?

By abuse do you mean taking a lot of stuff? I don't see a problem with that. I usually encouraged it. If people think they need all that stuff who am I to say they don't need it. I was getting so many donations that we always had way more stuff than we could get rid of anyway. Yes people were generally confused about the whole thing. It was funny, they would look at me and ask, "but how do you make any money?"

Awwwwww, right on @ajavajive !!! Somehow I just knew that would be your answer!! You have a heart of gold <3 <3 <3

Very cool! What an inspiration! I plan to start a co-op as well!

That is so great to hear @richardcrill :) You can do it! I'm sending you all the good vibes I got :) Thank you, thank you!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61804.64
ETH 3395.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51