Trade Updates - Week 27/28

in #options6 years ago (edited)

Hi steemians and option traders,

the past two weeks have been really wild in the markets.
Unfortunately I haven't got time to post trades, since I have been working over 80 hrs per week lately.
Writing books, promoting books, being a trader, taking care of the family and working a regular job is very time consuming.

My book was mentioned on the tastytrade network today, which was pretty amazing.

Here is the video

Now let's have a look at the markets:

S&P 500 Future

Screen Shot 2018-10-19 at 9.47.51 PM.png

source:tastyworks

Nasdaq 100 Future

Screen Shot 2018-10-19 at 9.48.32 PM.png

source:tastyworks

30 Year Treasury Bond Future

Screen Shot 2018-10-19 at 9.49.19 PM.png

source:tastyworks

VIX

Screen Shot 2018-10-19 at 9.50.00 PM.png

source:tastyworks

I had to do a lot of rolling to manage/ defend my positions.
Now let's have a look at my positions.

First let's have a look at the positions I closed.

QQQ Iron Fly in November

image.png

source:tastyworks

I collected $9.42 for this Iron Fly.
I was able to close this position on October, 10th, for a small profit of 14 cents.
Considering that this position started out as a broken wing call butterfly over two month ago, which was a huge loser during the time, I'm pretty happy about this small winner.
You can review the whole trade management here.

SPY Short Call Spread in November

SPY Short Call Spread.png

source:tastyworks

I collected $4.54 for this credit spread.
On October, 10th, I closed it for a nice profit.


Below are the position, which are still open.

GLD Short Straddle in November

GLD Position.png

source:tastyworks

I collected $3.41 for this straddle.
My profit target, as always for short straddles, is 25% of max profit (85 cents).
So I'm going to close this position when it trades for $2.56 or at 21 DTE.
At the moment this position is up 20 cents ($20 per one lot).

XLE 30 Delta Short Strangle in November

XLE Position.png

source:tastyworks

This started out as a short strangle, but I had to roll down the call to defend my position.My overall credit for this short straddle is $3.46
My original profit target, hasn't changed (95 cents).
So I'm going to close this position when it trades for $2.51 or at 21 DTE.
At the moment this position is down 10 cents ($10 per one lot).

Short Straddle in IWM in November

IWm Position.png

source:tastyworks

I also had to defend this position.
First I had to roll down the call and when going inverted wasn't enough I had to add a short call to neutralize my deltas.
So this is now a inverted short strangle with an additional short call.
My original profit target, when this position started out was $1.61.
It hasn't changed.
My overall credit for this position is $15.36, so I'm going to close this position when it trades for $13.75.
At the moment this position is down $2.70 ($270 per one lot).

FXE Straddle in November

FXE Position.png

source:tastyworks

I collected $2.49 for this straddle.
I also had to go inverted in this underlying, so my overall credit is $3.45.
My profit target, as always for short straddles, is 25% of max profit (62 cents).
So I'm going to close this position when it trades for $1.87 or at 21 DTE.
At the moment this position is down 39 cents ($39 per one lot).

Inverted Strangle in TLT

TLT Position.png

source:tastyworks

I collected $4.52 for this inverted strangle.
This position was deep in the hole, so I will try to scratch it if I get the chance.
At the moment this position is down $1.10 ($110 per one lot).


EWZ November Short Straddle

EWZ Position.png

source:tastyworks

I collected $5.41 for this straddle.
At the moment this position is down 38 cents ($38 per one lot).


All in all pretty tough weeks, but if you compare my portfolio to an all long stock portfolio, you can see how strong a uncorrelated short premium portfolio really is.

Please buy my book if you want to learn how to sell premium

Cover small.jpg


Have a great weekend,
Stephan Haller



Legal disclaimer: These are not trade recommendations. Options involve risk and are not suitable for all investors. The trades shown above are for educational purpose only.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83