ICO Opiria

in #opiria6 years ago

Website: https://opiria.io/
Token type: ERC-20 (designed for Ethereum but able to migrate)
Ticker: PDATA
Token Supply: 450,000,000 PDATA
Hard Cap 30,000,000 USD
Whitepaper: 78 pages

Distribution of Funds:

Project Summary:

  • Opiria platform is companies existing data marketplace

  • PDATA tokens are created as an incentive for people to share their
    data to the marketplace

  • Uses blockchain to fulfil General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR)
    requirements

Pros/Cons:

  • Pros:

    • Platform already used by strong partners such as Intel, BMW, P&G
      (as claimed on website)

    • Using blockchain to avert GDPR

    • Tokenomics should work

    • Existing product

    • Anonymity for data contributors

  • Cons:

    • Ultimately this product does not require an ico/tge

    • Anonymity can also be achieved by hiding behind an address of
      any token

    • Does not require blockchain technology to implement

    • Companies should be able to do this without the need for an
      escrow Opiria

    • The data is still sent to the company directly from a device
      (e.g smartphone) which might still be traceable

General Thoughts:

The question I ask myself whenever I look at tokens as an incentive
model is whether the incentive could have been done in Bitcoin or
Ethereum. The answer is usually yes, as the project rarely requires it's
own tokens and funding is usually used to fund the development of a
project.

Don't get me wrong though, I do share the vision that data is the new
oil and support the team's existing product -- Opiria. I do however feel
that the need to issue their own token questionable and I would classify
this as a weak use case of blockchain technology.

Rating: 4/10

P/S: Please let me know of any upcoming icos that you would like me to look through in the comments section down below =)

Disclaimer: This is not investing advice and simply my personal
thoughts and opinions. I am not liable for any decisions made from this
post. I am also not affiliated with any investment or advisory firms and
do not engage in activity with such entities.

Please donate if you like my content

ETH: 0xa0b9Ec81eC4dcb269D5cc27E717bb967c441233e

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64884.95
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82