My Chronic Pain/Rehab story

in #opioids6 years ago (edited)

blank-prescription-blue-pills.jpeg

So, let me start out with my personal story.. i was 17 years old when i received my first Rx for hydrocodone...i had jumped off a rock quarry into the lake, i thought to myself hey everyone else is jumping into the lake from like 70 feet up, why shouldnt i..lol..WRONG decision, i went to jump off and of course i was the only one who busted my ear drum..WORST PAIN IVE EVER EXPERIENCED!!!

Anyways, so that started my pain pill addiction. So i was getting pain pills for my back about the same time as the rock quarry accident happened.. So i went all the way through High School taking my Rx's, which at the time were tramadol and hydrocodone...that continued for years until i went to a pain management clinic and this Doctor prescribed me Methadone for my pain...so here i go on an 8 year Methadone extravaganza if you will.. So finally, im 27 years old and decided i had enough... oh and by the way i was on Valium aa well, so like i said i had enough and decided to check into a Christ based rehab...
This rehab was a 9 month program, 3 months of chapel every morning, then we would go to the local soup kitchen and feed the hungry, then come back and have several classes, most all centered around Christ Jesus... one class per week would be about anger management, another would be about job placement, then the rest were Bible study. We would go to Church every Wednesday night and every Sunday morning and night, also on Thursday we would go to whats called Celebrate Recovery.

Okay now for the next 3 months... We are able to get jobs and work from 530am until 530pm... We still went to Celebrate Recovery, Church every Wednesday night and every Sunday morning and night just like in first phase (the first 3 months).. So that was 2nd phase...after 2nd phase i got to come back home, but like i said its a 9 month program.. So all 3rd phase consisted of is us coming back once a week for about an hour and talking and basically just transitioning into society...

Well here i am, 4 years later and i can honestly say that place could of possibly saved my life... well, i know it did!! Ive had slip ups but im far from the person i was back then!!!

Thanks for reading :-)

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

i was 17 years old when i recieved my first Rx for hydrocodone.
It should be received instead of recieved.

😵😵 awesome
Story bud !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66