Does the small person really stand a chance to go anywhere on Steemit?

in #opinion7 years ago (edited)

nikko-macaspac-263785.jpg
Photo by nikko macaspac on Unsplash

What goes through my mind is this...

What if we have PewdiePie coming across to Steem? On the tech side, someone like Chris Pirillo? Or anyone else you know that is a big gun of YouTube, who can move into just about any platform, and swamp it due to their sheer number of followers they currently have?

How would this affect the chances of any "normal" user having their content shown to a wide variety of users?

Would having these sort of people on Steemit be a benefit or a hindrance?

That's the thing, I honestly don't know what way to go with the likes of Steemit as I find it difficult at the moment to focus on content of interest at the moment, and anything I do spend time trying to create, will just be washed away by the larger characters who are out there.

I've read other users mentioning the fact that we should not post daily, we should sit and think about what we wish to write about and then release it when it's good content. Define good content? I consider the stuff I can write about to be more of either a venting session or a small part of letting others know what I have been doing with my time, and whether anyone finds that interesting or not, I just assume that the numbers will soon tell, but when you cannot get whatever you have spent time creating pushed out above the waves of the higher quality content creator​s, is there any wonder that the lowly creators just wonder if it's really worth bothering getting involved?

Things here are in BETA, I fully understand that, but I think I need other Steemit users who understand​ the platform more, to try and explain exactly what​ it​ is trying​ to achieve​? It has to have a comparison to something​ that is already out there, and if so, how is it better? Why should someone​ give up YouTube and the likes to come over to something that is having difficulty making its mark to some of us?

Maybe a section on Steemit that has a nice title such as: WHY STEEMIT? And then guide the new users into what is expected, and what the​ rewards might be, may help things along... and if there is a section already with this on it... well...​ I've not been​ able to find​ it easily enough!

This post may come across as being negative, but it's quite the​ opposite, as for me I am seeking guidance on why I should get involved, and whether this really​ is a place suitable for me!

I'd love to hear your views and advice!

Sort:  

Well someone found your post and liked it - because my upvote is just 1 sbd right now and I have not touched a bot either 😳 it’s an interesting question, I am doing a post a day - that’s suiting me and to gain visibility I bless the bots with sbd and they give me upvote. Networking is apparently the way to go if you are sociable - the alliance seems a popular group you could look up - most groups use discord so getting an account on that is a good idea as well.

In addition to your beautiful ideas, I need to add that every person is very nice to freely share their ideas. and it is a very good idea to make contributions from these ideas. @Steemit congratulations @techreality

best regard
@turkishcrew

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59