2018 THE START OF ANOTHER SERIES OF TECH RELEASES..BUT DO I CARE?

in #opinion6 years ago

greg-rakozy-38802.jpg

As someone who loves all aspects of technology, I have have been fortunate enough to live through the years of technology changes, from the humble ZX80 being launched up to the current day in which we are surrounded by computers that can do just about anything a person needs, quickly and above else, affordable on many levels.

The downside though, is that someone like me becomes very jaded when all we are faced with is faster processors, larger drives, touch capability, speech recognition etc, as these (while great) don't really provide anything with a real wow factor to me.

The youth of today have just an incredible amount of technology at their disposal, but what hits me, is their complete lack of appreciating what they fold in their hands or have sitting on a desk at home. Sure, they cannot go back to when I was a kid and live the technology changes, but there just appears to be a complete of appreciation of anything, and its that I find quite sad.

Maybe it's just the people around me, and it's not such a problem as I think, but even online, watching that "stars" of YouTube, reading the accounts on Twitter of many people, their complete lack of having any real connection with the technology they use, I still find very sad.

But, in thinking, maybe the real issue is just me? As I have lived through the great technology changes I can appreciate what we currently have, and maybe being around it all for so long, it's me who does not understand the way that the younger generation focuses on technology nowadays?

Games nowadays just don't appeal to me very much as they tend to be all based on the same concept of 3D first-person views, shoot things and no real game to things, other than bang bang you are dead. Makes no difference if it's space, war, fantasy, the games are basically all the same, and even worse, are the single-player modes in some games which you just watch most of the stuff on screen, press a button at a predefined time, and that's​ it! For me, zero connection, but even worse, I suffer from motion sickness on these types of games, so it's one other​ reason they just don't click with me.

Where am I going with all​ of this you may wonder? Do you even care? That's a pretty hard question to answer as 2018 for me seems to be a year that may be a void of anything useful​ being released other than a minor update on hardware or​ software​. I need something... more... but at the moment what that is, I have no idea...

So... what do you think? Am I just jaded and missing​ out on stuff around​ me I am not aware of, or am I right? If so, where do we go from here? I'd be interested in hearing what others think!

Sort:  

Great first post, quite thought provoking and covers quite a bit of my favourite topics technology and gaming. For reference - it’s good form to quote the source of an image if it is not your own. Gaming wise I know what you mean, although Steam has a lot of games from small developers that are unique and different - games like Gang Beasts, Human Fall Flat and Who’s Your Daddy add puzzles with unique gaming experiences- if you have not encountered them expect future gameplay videos in my own blog.

Image is completely free to use, and no promotion of it's creator is required (I fully checked). The games that I like are all the stuff from "That Game Company" with "Journey" just blowing me away when I first bought it. Never had a game bring a tear to my eye, but that one did at the end! Even on the PS4, I tend to play the silly games that hold my limited attention for a while, then I switch off and go back online!

Just thought I would check on the image, I tend to avoid the problem by using my own photos. I'm not sure it really matters that much either way but people can get salty about it. To be honest like you I don't really have that much time nowadays to game, I like my Star Wars Battlefront more because I like Star Wars - I'm no good at it but it's fun just winding down now and again and the graphics are amazing. I dropped in the reply I gave Bob last night as the advice fits for you as well - Starting from scratch here can be really hard - especially as it is growing daily so really as soon as you create a post most people who might like it already missed it because of the constant stream of new ones popping in above it. To be honest I'm not sure that many people even look at my own posts, as per my vlogs my growth pattern was to feed some starting capital in from my Bitcoin mining (that's been 100% bitcoin since mid December as I built enough rolling capital to pump a post a day) You can see what I do by going into my wallet - every transaction is quite clear I send small amounts to many bots - it might seem like hard work but they get over subscribed easily and sending one large amount to one would definately either break even or result in a loss. You get a pay out in seven days time, re-invest earnings in a post using www.smartmarket.com - their upvote tells you the available upvote and they guarantee a 50% greater upvote then money put in - so if you send $6 SBD and they only upvote $10 SBD you get $1 SBD back. This is far better then the bid bots where you can strike lucky and get a big pay out for what you put in - but you could also get very little or nothing - total gamble most of the time.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85