You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Flexibility In Gig Work?

in #opinion5 years ago

I think there is currently a big difference betwen the rich and poor in terms of the desirable flexibility that gig work brings, because ultimately personal resources is what allows you to "walk away". Im in a financially strong position, because for decades I worked like a slave for"the man" and also studied at the same time to ever increase my value to the organisation. Ultimately I had to walk away for health reasons, which gave me a new perspective on work.
Im back o the 9-5 now, but my attitude is very different, Im highly skilled, but have taken a lower skilled job, and frankly I can walk out anytime and nothing terrible will happen to me or my family, but that flexibility now, came at huge prior cost.
I sympathise with those stuck in the gig economy who dont have any resources, or even negative resources (debt), because as with all contracts be they social or financial, the party with the most bargaining power almost always wins.

Long term, I can see if the trend of AI and robotics continues, economics will fundamentally break-down, a few people will own all the means of production, but everyone else will be too poor to buy anything - at this point I can imagine a communism evolving where the largley autonomous means of production become communal property, and money ceases to exist in the sense of wages, we will get a Universal Basic Income, and gig work for pleasure to supplement if we want to.
This is the ultimate goal of technology after all, to provide us more leisure time. Our society needs to catch up to this and realise that making a few people work 80 hour weeks for huge sums of money while thousands sit poor and idle isnt a reasonable way to do things.

Only the future will tell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44