Arguing with the left: case study Jordan Peterson

in #opinion7 years ago

I assume everyone who is interested in this sort of things has seen the Channel 4 interview of Jordan Peterson by Cathy Newman. It went rather viral in certain corners of the internet. So why am I mentioning it? Well I had not better idea for a post at this time, and wanted to add a little commentary of my very own. Why should I not randomly give opinions on things? Is this not the internet? It is, brethren, it is.

Now here is the clip in question, if you want ot view it. Or, you know, don't. What do I care? Anyway, the clip:

I am not necessarily what someone would call a fan of ol’ Jordan here, but I have to admit I like the guy. And he seems rather adept at this whole talking thing. He would say he is high in verbal reasoning. Now I find that nonsense, so all I can say is he uses his tongue prettier than a 20 dollar whore.

I think this clip, regardless of your opinion on the participants, is a good example of arguing with someone who has the left wing combative style of arguing. I have seen many a libertarian who, while having some reasonable arguments, seems to lose a debate because they do not properly counter the tricks used by the other side.

These sorts of debates are rarely and argument and a counter argument. It is much more often argument followed by straw-men, deflection, ad hominem, smear and change of subject. And many, sadly, fall for this, and end up defending themselves for things they did not say or do. Seeming to be too often on the defensive makes one look bad in a debate. Jordan Peterson is not having any of it and it is a good example for others.

First of all make sure you master your arguments. This should happen anyway; if you believe something you should really make sure you have good reason for it. Critically assess your views constantly, mostly for yourself, and you will not have issues in debates. It is much harder to argue something you yourself are not clear on.

Obviously, not my meme, just random googled it

Getting back to the video, it is a very good example of one of the main tricks: Do not let your opponent put words in your mouth or deliberately misquote you or smear you. How to accomplish this?

Choose your words deliberately and make sure they are not twisted. Do not let the opposition make an off claim that is different to what you said and then quickly continue in another direction, without the claim being addressed. That off comment may stick in the minds of the viewers. Stop the deflection and address the claim, and only move on when you have cleared things up.

Do not defend straw-men, stop them in their tracks. Say as often as necessary that is not what I said. That is not what I did. That is not what I said meant. Do not leave topics hanging. Do not accept you said or meant anything you did not. Clarify things to the point that everyone knows what your actual position is.

Do not allow yourself to be smeared. Stop ad hominess in their track. Do not allow guilt by association. Argue in good faith and do not accept arguments in bad faith. And in the end realize that, if you happen to win the argument, the left will smear you afterword when you cannot directly defend yourself. But there is little you can do about it.

Sort:  

In the introduction to the 12 rules book he talks a little about this newfound "fame" as he found himself in this political turmoil of sorts.
Anyway, I think you should try for this first book which is heavy but cool. Haven't yet gotten deep into it but I agree, he is good at verbal reasoning!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31