Paying Your Dues: An Insidious Concept that Restricts Our Freedom

in #opinion6 years ago

I work at a K-5 elementary school, and the other day I was walking down the hall when I saw two students, probably about 9, walking past me in the other direction. One of them looked upset about something and was talking pretty loudly to the other. I said something like "What's going on here?" Thinking this was a more empathic, compassionate response than kids sometimes get from adults in the school, and certainly more so than I was used to getting from adults at that age, I expected an in-kind reaction. But what I got instead was an annoyed look followed by a dismissive "uggh, don't worry about it."

"Well okay then," I thought, taken aback by what I perceived as brashness and disrespect from this youngster, who, by virtue only of his age and stature, hadn't yet earned the right to respond to me in this way.

As a school-based therapist, this wasn't the first experience I'd encountered like this; in the counseling space, this kind of annoyance isn't all that uncommon. But in the hall, with someone I didn't know and who didn't know me - someone I was literally looking down upon - it stung.

I immediately asked myself why.

**

On recent visits with my parents, I've noticed my dad asking me more and more pointed questions about my work. Throughout his adult life he has worked incredibly hard, building and running multiple small businesses while also taking on side jobs that included teaching, refereeing, and coaching. Growing up with this as my model, I too have worked hard for many years, even if I haven't always been sure why. More recently, I have begun to question work for work's sake, and at my job I've gone down from 5 days/week to 4. I'm currently pursuing a position that would be 2 days/week.

keep-calm-and-pay-your-dues-5.png

When I told my dad about this, I could tell he was hiding his incredulity, along with a fair share of disappointment. "So you'd make as much as you're making now, but only working 2 days?!" Followed by "I have a hard time understanding how that is." Followed by "What else would you do?"

On the surface, I've often thought this kind of disappointment-masked-as-surprise was about me not working hard enough or not following the example he set. But upon reflection, I think it's deeper than that. I think he's looking for solidarity.

**

How often do we hear the expression "you've gotta pay your dues" and think nothing of it, tossing it around as a fundamental, universal axiom? We'd be forgiven for doing so, given that, in most cases:

Before you get dessert, you have to eat your dinner.

Before you start first grade, you have to finish Kindergarten.

Before playing outside, you have to do your homework.

Before joining a fraternity, you have to get hazed.

Before becoming a doctor, you have to spend a decade learning and training.

Before gaining tenure, professors have to pass through a rigorous, years-long vetting process.

And so on and so on.

Of course we could think of good reasons for many, if not all, of these examples. But how often does this belief keep us stuck in old ways of being?

It's the belief that made me upset that a 3rd grader didn't act toward me "the way we acted toward adults back in my day" (as I said in my head after it happened). It's the belief that drives my dad to continue subtly pushing me toward a more punishing work schedule, so that (I think) he can have someone to connect with about how bad it is, so that it gives justification to his past suffering.

On a more macro level, it is this belief that pushes police and military officials to make trainees suffer in the same ways that they did, and in ways that often make them bitter and resentful, not just toward the next generation of soldiers but toward the public at large. It is often what leads fathers to pressure their sons to join the military. It is a big part of the perpetuation of unhealthy cultural practices, from physically and emotionally punishing kids ("it'll toughen you up"), to getting black-out drunk on your 21st birthday, to the practice, in many cultures, of FGM.

The common thread in all of these cases, I think, is that it keeps us stuck. It restricts our freedom to explore and to learn by trying new things, and doing things differently than past generations have. It is insidious in large part because of the emotional connection we so often have to the parties imposing this belief on us; no matter how well-intentioned their efforts might be, we often follow their dictates without thinking about it or realizing what we're doing. The animating, unconscious thought so often being: if I had to do it, then they should too. They should pay their dues.

What might happen if we were to free ourselves from this oppressive belief? And what would it take to do so? Speaking personally, I know I would have responded more empathically to the 3rd grader at my school, and I wouldn't have felt so much pressure for so many years to work-work-work, at least not without first asking why-why-why?

What would it be like to start noticing when this idea shows up, and when it influences your thoughts, feelings, and actions? How might your life look differently if you disentangled yourself from this dangerous idea?

Sort:  

Oh yes, I'm with you in this. I'm a dad to three young kids, and we're often working on conscious language. Just this week, we discussed the way they were saying, "I worked really hard on this!" as a way of justifying its worth. Specifically, they were talking about some Lego creations. I'm sure they learned these words from us, related to a meal we made, or whatever. Anyway, "I worked really hard on this" does value the energetic investment, but it doesn't really say what's special about the thing. There's no real substance to it. Instead, I'd like to hear the kids say, "I like the way this helps me to imagine," or, "I feel really happy when I play with this." The entire concept of "hard work" is something we aim to improve, just as you're saying here, because "hardness" isn't a sign of the work's value. Yes, and I think conscious language can bring more meaning, more truth, and there is freedom in this.

I'm so glad you related this to conscious language, and the idea of "hard work." The conscious language piece is something I'm working on in my everyday life, and I am finding it to be (coincidentally) really hard! Changing the way we speak to reflect the values we actually hold or wish to hold requires a great deal of vigilance. Paradoxically, "free speech" advocates usually tend to fight against the idea that speech ought to be changed, but in fact, in the long-term it can lead to greater (actual) freedom, in my view at least. In any case, kudos to you for bringing your awareness of all this to your relationship with your kids.

Thanks for your meaningful reply! This article of yours is great and I believe you'll gain some nice exposure through the @ocd curation.

Thanks - I just looked up @ocd and followed. Looks like a perfect place for newbies like myself :) So should I tag future posts as "ocd," or post directly to the group, or something else?

Okay, so I had to sit here and think about this for a while after reading your post. I like it when that happens. It means there's a lot there to process and work through.

I think you bring up a topic that doesn't get talked about much, at least not so much in the way you presented it, but it's something I imagine all of us feel, and chafe against more than once throughout our lives.

We find ourselves confined or restricted by systems that we're told are meant to bring us experience, wisdom, whatever, while taking our proper place in the order of things. Yet, these rules of conduct don't seem to apply to everyone, or not everyone gets treated the same way, and so we see an abuse of these systems, or misuses.

And we resent them because we think, if left to our own devices, we could do as well or better than anyone else. We could be the next this famous person or that multi-billionaire.

To an extent, I have to agree. I think there are some ways of doing things that are much more about preserving the status quo, or the current structure's power than they actually do help to maintain order or produce quality workers, students, children, what have you.

Those systems that exist purely to maintain the power and wealth at the top need to be torn down, or even better, competed against and made obsolete, as the march of time and progress passes them by like every other form of tyranny and oppression now assigned to the dustbin of history.

However, I would not cast as quite a large of net as you seem to here with the "paying of dues". I think I would need to take a good hard look at all kinds of scenarios before I acted carte blanche. Maybe your not suggesting such a wide net, either. If not, I apologize for misinterpreting your meaning.

Personally, I think the nine-year-old should be expected to treat you with respect. Maybe not just because of your age, or your title, but because you're a person worthy of respect. Respect is something that is earned. We can give someone a chance, give them the benefit of the doubt, but he won't be our most trusted or most respected friend or colleague if there hasn't been some reason to warrant it. And likewise us to him.

I think the idea of paying dues through work has several applications. Certainly not working for work's sake. I've been fortunate to own a business where I was able to whittle down my main 'job' from over 30 hours a week to 10-12. It came through a form of dues paying though. Not to anyone else, but through gaining enough experience and obtaining the right tools and putting others in place so I could reduce the workload.

I've never been one for busy work, and I've never understood processes that don't actually do what they say they do. "It's the way we've always done it," doesn't fly automatically. There are, however, ways of doing things or traditions that are worth keeping. Some that aren't necessarily the most efficient, but they are still the best way.

At any rate, I thank you for the post and the opportunity to provide my thoughts on the matter.

Hello there,
I really love your reply. I was anticipating, and actually hoping for, such a response - one that (very respectfully) points out some of the angles I missed and/or overlooked. I will say that I did think I may be casting too wide of a net in not pointing out the types of instances where "paying one's dues" can actually be socially and personally beneficial, and I do think they exist (you point to some good examples from your own life). Partly I chose not to cover this point because I am trying to be relatively brief in my posts (which is hard for me!). And to this end, I'm genuinely grateful that you added in some of what I had left out. Incidentally, this is a big part of what I love about Steemit, and I hope these and similar posts can continue to be seen as essentially collaborative efforts - not to be hokey.
One point you bring up that I definitely missed - that is, that I did not intentionally leave out - is the point about the 9-year-old, and how he should have shown me respect, not because I am older, but because I am a human being worthy of dignity and respect. I 100% agree with you here, and because I was looking at this through such a narrow lens, I did not even consider this! I was even patting myself on the back for what I saw as my more "mature" and "evolved" response. So thank you for bringing to my attention that I had overlooked that.
I'm glad that my thoughts gave you pause and an opportunity to reflect, as well as a chance to provide your unique perspective on the matter. Cheers!

Congratulations @chap820! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @chap820! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57126.48
ETH 3046.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29