#OpHumanAngels :: Litter Walk #1

Inspired By the Recent Actions of Human Angels on the STEEM Blockchain

@HickoryMack, @PhoenixWren & @DaveDickeyYall have been doing their usual amazing random acts of kindness, and the for the last couple weeks the recipient was the Earth. I decided I needed to join in this fun so I snapped on my latex glove and headed out on the highway with a big black garbage bag, determined to fill it.

Photo on 2018-04-05 at 10.32 AM #5.jpg

IMG_5970.JPG

This is the first time I've ever worn my rubber boots on a walk.

IMG_5969.JPG

I say goodbye to my miniature fridge Panther and buns. Trust me, this is the last beauty you will see in this post, so enjoy it!

IMG_5988.jpg

The #Op

IMG_5971.JPG

You know you're in Canada when...

IMG_5973.JPG

There are Timmies cups and Pilsner cans lining the highway ditch.

IMG_5972.JPG

A sodden blue toque and a subway cup.

IMG_5974.JPG

A piece of the dude's car who crashed across the street a couple months ago.

IMG_5975.JPG

Styrofoam, always glad to get this stuff out of the ground.

IMG_5977.JPG

IMG_5976.JPG

IMG_5978.JPG

About a third full now, lots of plastics.

IMG_5979.JPG

Found a Massive Dumping Ground

IMG_5984.JPG

Behind some mailboxes someone is creating their own city dump. Grocery bags filled with garbage. And there's a ditch behind it full of water, and more plastic bags with garbage in them as well as a lot of cups and cans.

I was definitely glad I had my rubber boots on, I waded in there and got as much as I could, but my bag was brimming full, so I will have to go back and get the rest another day.

IMG_5982.JPG

IMG_5983.JPG

Lugging this back home was a great work out.

IMG_5985.JPG

OpHumanAngels Philanthropy.jpeg

I had SUCH a great day, the sun was shining and it felt wonderful to clean up our community a little bit. I'll certainly be adding this action regularly into my #OpHumanAngels repertoire!

Sort:  

Oh my gosh I can't believe that dumping ground!! Is there someone who doesn't pay for trash pickup and thinks just leaving it in the creek is a good idea?! WTF
YEAH great work Lynds! I can't - well I can, unfortunately, but your photos are always so lovely - believe how much you found!
I was walking home from Petco and there was MORE trash across the street where I picked up the other day. What the FUCK are my neighbors doing? I almost wrote a chalk message there for them, but I think it will wait until after snow so maybe the perpetrators of trash see it. I will write: "Keep the Earth clean - it's not Uranus."

Oh hey look, I found the dumping ground:

Yep, that's it hahaha!! I love your saying, it's a great one!!! I may have to take my chalk out too in solidarity haha, the only problem is everyone will know it was me LMAO!!

Right? I got noticed (and stared at) picking up trash. If I went out and chalked messages about the litter or the dog shit (ALSO TEMPTING), certain people would know it was that crazy blonde guy with a trash bag...

Man, I should photograph it next time I go out picking up junk. Its just a habit of mine now, I refuse garbage!

Yes, do that for sure, it helps inspire others to take similar actions by sharing the good you do! #litterwalk #ophumanangels :D :D xoxo You are awesome SiSTAR!!

Awe yea! Crap thats a lot of shitty littering! I bet that is someone tossing garbage from their car when they check the mail, I actually saw a guy do that at ours. So brutal. I'm starting my #litterwalk in the ditches here too! Snow is melting this week, so it's on!! <3 <3 <3

Oooh awesome!!! Can't wait to see what you haul out, I bet there is so much!! xoxoxox

I cannot believe people are so low as to dump bags of trash like that!

love this and I would love to come and help. doing the Seabright cleanup some time in April as well. Let me know if you find a black Mizuno running toque. hee lol. happy to see you out there. the worst spot is in the ditches around Redmonds..xx

Yea we'll have to get out as a family one day to do those ones!

Dammmmnnn... that's a #grownassman size bag of garbage.. great job

Some people are such slobs. Too lazy to put the garbage in its proper place. Doesn't it take the same amount of energy(or less) to put the trash in a bag and put out for the truck as it does to find a place to toss it?

You would really think it would. And lots of the stuff in the ditch is from people tossing it out of their car. I always used my backseat for garbage LOL!!!

And then get the kids to clean it out? LOL

Haha, great, good work, and I've done a lot volunteer work with The Salvation Army for years, picked up trash, worked at camps, and I was in Quebec and liked it and I love this hashtag #OpHumanAngels and this is great. Thanks for sharing, hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

2015 ANNA DID MY HAIR.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78