#OpHumanAngels New Years Eve

in #ophumanangels6 years ago

20171231_205442_1514819907018.png

Picture is my own. Tri-Dee Art Store Mural, Mt. Vernon Wa

After reading @lyndsaybowes post, "Calling All Human Angels", my hubby @chackett and I were inspired to join in.


Our original idea for hiding inspiring messages was put on hold since we couldn't find the specific art supplies we needed to pull it off. Hello Amazon and a 2 day wait. Ok, on to plan B....



20180101_070010.png

It was freezing here last night. It's usually pretty mild here in the winters, but when it dips below freezing, it can be a biting cold. There's so much moisture in the air here, the cold feels like it soaks into your bones if you're not properly dressed.

@chackett and I somehow ended up with all the leftover ham from 2 different family dinners. We made a ham, bacon, potato, dumpling chowder with it.

20171231_155512.jpg

We knew we would have leftovers. Way more than we would ever eat. So we headed to the Dollar store and grabbed some thermos cups and spoons. While we were at it we went ahead and picked out some hats, gloves, socks and toiletries to go with the soup. #ophumanangels was underway!


Our plan was to drive around the areas of town that typically have a large homeless population and if we found anyone out in the cold for the night, we would offer them a cup of hot soup, a bottled water and some simple toiletries, hats, gloves etc.

20171231_181902.jpg


I don't know if you can see it that well, but on the baggie I wrote: " You are worth more than the $ in your pocket. #ophumanangels@steemit.com". Each kit includes stuff like a toothbrush, toothpaste, pads, tampons, wet wipes, matches, gum. Little things that can mean alot to someone that doesn't have them.

20171231_160025.jpg

As soon as our kids fell asleep, my mom came over and sat with them so we could head out on our mission. There are a few places in town that people tend to gather when they have no where else to go. Our local Safeway and surrounding strip malls is one place. The first person we spotted was young, maybe 19 at the most. He had a backpack on and was riding a bike. He had stopped at a dumpster and was getting ready to take a look inside.

20171231_203042.jpg

@chackett parked the car and approached the young man. Asked him if would like a hot meal or any warm clothes? He responded, " Oh man, I thought you were the cops coming to chase me outta here again." He was greatful for the hot food and supplies. We were just glad we could help.



You see, this is a small rural farming town. Our main attraction is Tulips. There are more cows than people in this Valley. The police force of late has been focused on trying to sweep the homeless out of view. Luckily, I do know that the county recently received a large grant to fund housing for the homeless and last year a cold weather shelter opened for the first time. We drove around the bus depot and the courthouse, 2 main places people usually find shelter. There was not a soul in sight.


I want to believe that everyone who needed a warm place to stay found it last night, and not that we just couldn't find them. We circled back around to Safeway and spotted an older gentleman leaning against the building, guarding 2 bicycles and a backpack full of everything he owned. @chackett offerered what we had. He accepted and told us that his wife was inside buying what little they could afford. They're not allowed to hang around the building unless they are shopping. :(


It was getting late by then so we called it quits, but we helped a few people and still have some kits left to give out. So we'll be doing this again as soon as we have a chance. I didn't get any pics of anyone we helped out of respect for them. I hope that's ok. Our next mission is more artsy and will include a ton of pics. :)

This was way out of my comfort zone, but today, the first day of 2018, I can offically say I'm comfortable with it! And I want to do more! Thank you to @lyndsaybowes, @davedickeyyall and @phoenixwren for sharing this idea and getting others involved. This is how you change your life. This is how you change the world. Love and light to all. Happy New Year!



banner.jpg

Sort:  

Omg...yep, this is a tear jerker!! WOWW!!! You beautiful Souls...thank you so so so so much for these beautiful, warm, life-giving actions!!!!!! You have made the world a better place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I didn't get any pics of anyone we helped out of respect for them. I hope that's ok.

Absolutely!!! It's absolutely okay!! The writing...was MORE than enough!! You guys rock so much!!!!! I love you!!!!!!!!!!

Aww thank you! You rock for thinking this up! I'm tired of watching the world burn. It's time to spread a little love. 💜💜💜

What a great way to pop your cherry.. feeding people on a cold night.. I know they were grateful.. I've been there..

The toiletries are a great touch.. many homeless people neglect their hygiene which makes it harder to get and keep a job...

I wish I could have ran across a Human Angel like you when I was homeless and hungry.. great job

Thanks man. 😁

The real question you should ask yourself here is how did it make you feel?

BTW... I'm just leaving Michael's with supplies for the next mission...

15148306216211749367704.jpg

This made me smile, well done you guys! Everyone deserves a hot meal, bless you for providing them one <3 I love the bags of supplies you made too, the messages make them really special. I can't wait to see your next post!! Such big hearts you have!

Great post to read, gives people hope to see that there are such good souls out there! Thank you for your kindness, for showing people it's okay to step out of their comfort zone and help others. You two are amazing people :)

Thank you. 😊

What a great idea! The packets are so nice and useful. And the message just makes it perfect! :))

Good job! Thanks to @phoenixwren you have planted 0.13 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14474.11. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

the world needs more people like you and gestures like this.
especially love that caption "you are worth more than the $ in your pocket"
so true. some just don't realize that not all homeless people are lazy bums. Some just fell on rough times or just couldn't get a break.

" some just don't realize that not all homeless people are lazy bums. Some just fell on rough times or just couldn't get a break."

Exactly! I'm a firm believer that everyone deserves access to basic necessities like shelter, food, water and medicine. I can't provide all of that for everyone. In the past that made me feel hopeless, like why even try? After this experience I've realized that helping people isn't about being able to fix all their problems. Even a small gesture is helpful and provides a little hope to the person that things will get better. I can do that! We all can! 😊

That was so awesome, you guys! You did a great thing and I'm sure those three people were super grateful. I hope the others were at the warming shelter too! There is a movement here called "move along to where?" and the "right to rest" movement too, in response to cops doing what you said ...where are they supposed to go, officer? I'm so glad people like you are there to care! Sometimes just saying hi and showing a kindness can be just as much of a needed help as the hot meal, in a world that is so cruel. Y'all are awesome!

I saw alot of that move along stuff in Denver. It always made me so mad. Once I watched a man on a bike with a backpack in Littleton get harassed by a cop for waiting to cross from the freeway ramp side of one street to another. The cop thought he was about to start panhandling I guess. We literally watched him ride up, push the cross walk button and get off his bike to wait. The cop pulled up just then and demanded ID. Like wtf, hes just tryna cross the road? Grr.

I'm glad we were able to do this. Honestly, without steemit, we wouldn't have been able to buy the dollar store stuff. It felt good to give back and keep the positivity flowing. I'm honored and blessed to have found this community of people who care. 😊

Oh my Goddess. I'm lucky I've never been harassed with my granny cart of groceries or something. 😩

beautiful post, I like

38 times today you've made this same spam comment.. again I flagged any rewards you had coming.. please learn to leave meaningful comments or don't leave any..

Congratulations @khackett! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69046.82
ETH 3769.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68