#OpHumanAngels: A mission for my momma.

in #ophumanangels7 years ago

I love my momma. She's seriously the best. She's the quiet type, but always ready to listen with an open mind and provide advice, if she's asked. I inherited my love of Halloween and dressing up from her. These pics are of her and I when I was around maybe 4 I wanna say? And then this last Halloween.

My mom has rhuemetoid arthritis in her hands. To the point that her fingers have become deformed and she has trouble doing things like opening a soda can or bottle, or starting a car. It's very painful for her and she is still a few years away from retirement. Yesterday and today she stayed home from work because she's in that much pain. My momma never misses work. I'm fretting over her a little today so I decided to make both of us feel better about it, I'd make it my mission today.

cover.jpg

I had to go to Costco after dropping the kids off at school, so I decided to grab a few of my mom's favorite things for her. She never gets to go to Costco because my dad hates going there. haha. First, her favorite green tea.

20180117_122712.jpg

Next I needed baby wipes. And I'm not that thrilled about still needing to buy these 3.5 years into this parenting thing. I had found this card floating in my purse, so I figured this was the perfect place for it. Hopefully the next frustrated parent that needs baby wipes will be reminded. "This too shall pass"

20180117_122827.jpg

Ok, one more thing for my momma. Chocolates! She loves chocolates. I hope these will do. :)

20180117_123542.jpg

She's resting right now, but I know that she'll make sure to come see the babies when they get home from school, so I'll give it to her then. I hope it makes her smile.


I also want to throw in a #thegoodnews anecdote

I had the opportunity to do an interview for @humansofsteemit, which is a fairly new project aimed at putting the spotlight on getting to know your fellow steemians. The questions they pose are both fun and thought provoking, I had fun writing my answers. You can read it here if you'd like:

hos.png

And I don't know if it's because I mentioned them in my humans of steemit interview or not, but.. you guys, @thevenusproject knows who I am now! They followed me today! I could squeal with joy! I'm fangirling so hard right now. I know I shouldn't care who follows me or not, but somehow making that connection helps reinforce the idea that I'm on the right track with my involvement in this community. I'm in awe of how this place continues to help me grow everyday. Peace and Love to you all! Thanks for reading!

kgif.gif

banner.jpg

Sort:  

That's so awesome.. momma is gonna be proud she raised such a awesome daughter...

Aww. I know she's proud of me, but honestly I couldn't have turned out this awesome without such a special lady for a mother. 😉💗

my mom is my favorite person too and such an awesome human. so heartened to see you loving on your mama! and i read your humans of steemit article and loved it!! :)

I hope your momma finds some relief soon. Sweet things you did for her will help her spirit <3<3<3

I am very sorry about your mother, my grandmother who passed away also suffered from deforming arthritis and I know that it hurts a lot at times, so your gesture is so nice and I am very sure she will appreciate a lot,
and nothing like chocolate to make a smile come out. Best luck khackett and I wonder what the costumes will be this year.

She slept all day my dad said. He thinks he might have to get her into the doctor. It's rough watching your parents age. I gave everything to my dad to give her when she wakes up.
Sorry about your grandma. 💗

A really thoughtful thing to do for your Mom, and also leaving your beautiful messages around while you shopped. And congrats on your new follower, that's awesome <3 <3 <3 Fan Girl ON!! :) :) :)

My poor mama is on her way to the er get checked out. She's not feeling right and her doctor wants her to get checked out right away. I'm worried. 😣

:'( :'( I'm so sorry to hear this...please keep us posted!

She's doing ok. The er docs checked her out and they think her new medicine they have her on for arthritis pain could be causing her sleepiness. My dad was a navy medic in Vietnam. He keeps a close eye on her and i guess her resting pulse rate was about 100. Way too high for someone sleeping. I'm glad she went and got checked out. Today she'll have to talk to her regular doc about the side effects from the new medicine and see what he does.

Oooh I'm glad to hear that she didn't have to stay hospitalized. Thank you so much for sharing, I hope they figure it out soon :'(

I can see that you love her very much by how you talk about her, I am very sure she will appreciate your gesture a lot, and the chocolate ;D

If I'm honest, it gives me a little envy
:P

I've never been able to have a connection with my mother, I love her and I know she loves me, but we are very different, I think life is always a bit complicated

Lol sorry I let myself go a little

The relationship between a mother and her child is nothing if not complicated. That's normal. You know, I bet if you called your mom she'd be thrilled to talk to you. Even if you just call to say "I love you. " 😊 I can tell you miss her. Much love to you. 💗💗

The relationship between a mother and her child is nothing if not complicated.

That's so true

You know, I bet if you called your mom she'd be thrilled to talk to you. Even if you just call to say "I love you. " 😊 I can tell you miss her.

You know, I'll follow your advice and I'll call her :D

Much love to you. 💗💗

Thanks

Thank you for mentioning HOS deary!!!
You gem

Anytime! 😊

XD I also love my mom, not a single day goes by without me saying her thanks at least once even for the smallest of things, actually she it is new here in Steemit @sacra97, funny thing is she asked for a place in the internet she could write and earn some money by doing so, and low and behold Steemit appeared in front of me and the first thing I thought was "this is it, this is what she can use"

I hope your mother can retired soon, she sounds like a very hard worker like yourself, she deserves all the rewards in the world and more, cheers @khackett

How cool is that, your mom is on here! I love it. 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42