A Birthday Celeberation Like Never Before #ophumanangels

in #ophumanangels7 years ago

So the other day we talked about How a Steemit Initiative Helped Kids in an Indian Village. I am thankful to @sallybeth and @hendrix22 to keep faith in this idea and unknown strangers like me who wanted to take this initiative forward.

Then I stumbled upon #thegoodnews initiative by @hendrix22 and #ophumanangels by @lyndsaybowes and I thought of sharing the goodness from my side of the world as well.

#thegoodnews and #ophumanangels both chronicle the random acts of kindness done by Steemians across the globe. So let me tell you a story which got me involved in one such random act of kindness last week.


My nephew turned 8 year old last week (12 January) and as usual my sister and brother-in-law had planned their regular birthday outing with the kids. Because I was close by, they invited us over to join them.

For the last 7 years, they've been celebrating birthday of their kids (the younger one is 5 years old) in an orphanage Bal Sadan Panchkula. This is an all girls orphanage and those kids eagerly wait the day of birthday.

IMG-20180119-WA0006.jpg
The cake vanished within minutes :)


IMG-20180119-WA0010.jpg
Everyone is a birthday kid here

For me it was an overwhelming experience to be a part of this unique celebration where little kids danced and sang songs with random strangers because that's the only family they had. Equally surprising was to see my nephews mingle with those girls and treat them their own family. And why not, it was his seventh visit to the Bal Sadan and he was known to almost everyone there.

There were kids with no parents who had spent their entire adulthood in the orphanage and they were getting married from that orphanage because random strangers not only helped them find a match but also donated for their marriage

Their were kids who learned dancing just by following YouTube and it was an amazing experience to see them dance like learned dancers

I had never visited any orphanage to celebrate birthday (or any event for that matter) before and now as I think about it, there must be hundreds of kids across the world who got no family of their own. It is such acts of kindness that bring smiles to their faces and makes them feel wanted and important in the world.

I'm glad I could play a small role in brightening up somebody's day by taking out some of my time!

I am glad that my sister and her family are instilling good values in their kids by making them understand the problems other kids go through and how they can be a change agent in someone's life.

It is not the monetary support that counts always. Sometimes your 'effort and time' can also be a shining light in other's life

IMG-20180119-WA0013.jpg

IMG-20180119-WA0009.jpg

IMG_20180112_165630492.jpg


IMG_20180112_165959638.jpg
Kids Tried to bring their old matron to the dancefloor :D


I decided to donate a small amount (that I had managed to earn through Steemit to the orphanage) and I hope to continue doing so in the future as well. Although in our culture it is considered bad to boast about your donations but sometimes its the word of mouth that brings random strangers together for the greater good.

IMG_20180119_142917285.jpg

Sort:  

Ooh this is so beautiful...bless those children, and bless you for being there to celebrate with them. It's posts like this that bring happy tears to my eyes. Thank you so much for sharing on Steemit so that we can all become more inspired!!

Thank You for dropping by :)

Oh, this melt my heart... If I have I will give you more than 0,05$. More people like you!

I've learned one thing that intention matters. So thank you for being with these kids in the spirit :)

That's so sweet and make my heart very happy! thank you for sharing with us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60209.30
ETH 2627.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55