Something told me to go to the Dollar store for PB M&Ms....But there was another reason.

in #ophumanangels7 years ago

I went to Hobby Lobby for a cross stitch project that I have been working on for @ophumanangels all this week. Then I was like crap! I have nothing to write about for todays blog...Then I saw a gentleman counting change in his hand outside the Dollar Store. I noticed that he grabbed an object around his neck and looked up. I went up to him and was like, "I am going inside, do you need anything". He said that he was just counting change to see what he could afford and praying for help. I said..."well lets go, I got you". The shock in his eyes told me that he thought I was joking. I said lets go, get what you need. He grabbed his things and set them off to the side, I guess you have to set your bags aside. Not sure, but ok lets go.
20180111_170955.jpg
I met a fellow named Vladamir or Benjamin, depending on if you are in the States or back in Norway. He was like " I am just hungry, I have never shopped here, whats good." I said, well the frozen food sucks and the cold stuff is crap, so anything dry is your best bet. He said that he was looking for the best bang for the buck and lots of protein. I suggested PB, Nuts and grain. He said cool. Grabbed 6 Vienna sausages and some trail mix, with a drink and he said he was done. I said..."look man, I understand but here are your options. You can get $20 worth of food or whatever, but in all total, I have $25 and your going to get $20 worth of stuff, or stuff and cash. Have it your way". His eyes lighted up and was like I need a basket...Cool get it and Ill be in the candy Isle...

The reason I was called here was for @khackett bedtime Peanut Butter M&Ms, that is all I needed. So we go up and down the isles and I saw some Nutty bars. He was like "I cannot have Peanuts". I was like well that trail mix has nuts in it. He was like, "Shit I was going to eat that first and I would have gone to the hospital, good call." So we gather all the food items that he wants. He kept saying that this is too much. I said man, this is where you get the best bang for your buck. Get what you want and can carry. I asked if he needed socks, hats, gloves, tooth paste, foot powder. He proceeded that he needed all those. So we got them. Go crazy...He kept close, I think that he thought I was going to leave. But I was not going anywhere.

20180111_170856.jpg

We get up to the checkout and I pay for everything and with my things it comes out to $19.56 or something. I was like check it out, we are under the $25 mark and handed him a $5. We made small chat outside and I looked at my watch, crap @khackett food is done and I have to go get it and get it home warm (happy wife, happy life). So I wished him well, he gave me a hug and he stated that this would last him all week. Shit broke my heart. As I get back to the car, I notice that he is sitting down to eat and was praying...Thats AWESOME....

Here is Benjamin, he asked that I not post his face. The object I found out was a Rosary around his neck.
20180111_171142.jpg

Sort:  

You are awesome! 💚

I'm so proud of you for remembering my m&m's. 😉 jk. You did a good job, this is why I married you! Most giving man I know. 😍

Im sorry my upworth is only worth a penny or less lol

It don't matter.. at least you remembered her M&Ms

Like i said.....happy wife happy life. I know better lol

Hell, im glad i remeber anything now a days lol

THIS.... THIS RIGHT HERE...

This is kind of stuff and the kinds of actions I want to see flooding my news feed... way to get out there and help the less fortunate..

In Unity there is Strength

I don’t really even know what to say here. But I feel like something should be said, something to let you know what you did was effing awesome. Something to let the whole world know that this is how we’re all supposed to be treating people. But, I don’t know enough words, and my voice isn’t loud enough. So, I guess I’ll just say thank you, @chackett.

Beautiful job, I love this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! xooxoxoxoxoxoxox Happy Tears!!!!!

I'm grateful to find those who are amplifying the power of love. Thanks for sharing your heart with others and for being an inspiration here on Steemit. I'd like to share my latest post on #thankyouforbeing and #randomactsofkindness. It's great to see you're already doing it! <3

I just read your post, love it!! I'm still getting the hang of how the tags work, but it seems like the more people who use the tag, the easier it is to find the post? We've been using #ophumanangels. It was started a few weeks ago by @lyndsaybowes. We'll start using your tags as well! I freaking love the community here, you all are awesome. 💗💗

This truly is like an extended world family, and spreading the love around really makes this experience much better for us all. I'll have to go meet @lyndsaybowes. When we combine our efforts, we truly can do amazing things. Thanks for the comment and for being @khackett!!

Awesome story and way to pay it forward. I’ve had some wild ones I’ve done to, it’s always a good feeling. Congrats, sure you made a impact on him.

Fatherhood of God, Brotherhood of Man🎩

man you must be having the heart of am angel , am proud of you man well done , its always good to learnca few things from guys like you.

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57527.13
ETH 2375.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42