You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekly Discussion Post: Most Overrated Game

in #opgaming6 years ago

Haters will say it's photoshopped, but this is it, right here:

It's overrated because of the rose tinted glasses that everyone uses when they look back on it. It's a good game, don't get me wrong. But it also has a lot of flaws. The story has more than a few moments where the character development feels rushed, hasty, or just nonexistent. The graphics, while a major milestone for the series, pale in comparison to the polygons that FF8 and FF9 were able to boast.

And let's not forget about the stairs in Shinra HQ. (shudder)

If you don't like my choice, fite meh.

Sort:  

No I don't like your choice lol
In my opinion the story of FF7 and character development is better than FF8 or 9.
Of course the graphics is not as good, it is older!
So I would say it is awesome and not overrated

You're allowed to hold that opinion. You're also allowed to be wrong. :3

I also believe Final Fantasy VII is overrated and Final Fantasy VIII is the superior entry in the whole ps1 golden age!

I agree with this part... It's actually my second most important reason where FFVII is the one that needs to be remade out of all Final Fantasies:

The graphics, while a major milestone for the series, pale in comparison to the polygons that FF8 and FF9 were able to boast.

The most important is that there are so much (Before Crisis, Advent Children, Crisis Core... etc.) that are tied to it, a remake will make use of these ties better than the original did.

Though for its time, the game was brilliant. Not the best, but deserves its popularity in the mainstream fandom. (I say, that most of the non-mainstream like FF6 or FF9 way more than FF7.)

I like them all lol
But I would put FF7 over FF8.
Looks like I am one of the minorities here :)

I'd say I love Final Fantasy VII more than FVIII overall, the story is so epic. But the I love the world (Gardens) and characters (Relationships) of FFVIII more than FFVII's. (Funny because I saw many people hating FF8 characters.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57589.28
ETH 3109.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37