#OperationFairyGodmother: Delegating SP to selected Steemians.

in #operationfairygodmother7 years ago (edited)

I'm busy with an experimental project. #OperationFairyGodmother.

How it came about:
I found out that it is possible to directly delegate SP to someone without using Minnowbooster or difficult equations by using the SP delegation tool by @justyy

This means that I can choose who I want to delegate my SP to instead of sending it into the the void that is Minnowbooster.

Why would you want to do that?

Because in the short term, delegating SP to a new user means more than your upvote does. It gives them an immediate boost in bandwidth and voting power, whereas if you upvoted their post it would take a week before they could redeem your upvote. This means that they don't have to wait as long for their bandwidth to recharge and can get back to commenting and posting good content as well as having an increased vote. Also, as a new user you don't have the available Steem or Steem Dollars to pay for a delegation from Minnowbooster.

I have been carefully looking at specific people who have just started out and who I believe are creating good content and have potential to make a positive contribution to the Steemit ecosystem. At this stage I'm delegating to 3 accounts.

But what does it cost?
You as the delegatee? Nothing. You get the benefit of a bigger bandwidth and larger upvote capacity while you wait for your payouts to start.
Me as the delegator? It costs me some of my upvote capacity, but I earn interest on my loan. How much I'm still not sure but that's why this is an experiment.

As part of being your Fairy Godmother I would take an interest in your account by commenting or resteeming, as well as give you tips on how to improve your posts, being available as a mentor should you need it. If you don't need help that's fine too.
Delegating my SP to you is a way of saying that I believe in you.

I will still peg down the exact amount of time my delegations will run for. At the moment it will be between 2 and 3 weeks with a week cool down period when I cancel the delegation. This means that the delegation will still show for an extra week on your account before it is returned to me.
So far in my experiment I have earned .006 SP since yesterday morning. (05/02/2018)
( I am currently being delegated 100 sp by @moderndragon, an account that I co-run with my husband)

If you're keen to join the experiment by being a Fairy Godmother ( Godperson? Benefactor? Patron?) You're welcome to use the tag #operationfairygodmother when you're delegating to someone so that they will know what it's about.
You can also anonymously send someone Sp.

If you've had experience in this regard and can offer advice I would appreciate that too.
Lets see what happens :)
Hope you have a good day
Lizelle

( Not related to the profile of fairy-godmother)
Butterfly Bush flower photo taken by me using my iPhone5s

Sort:  

Hey I mentioned this in reply to you on a comment to another user's post, but I should say it here for the benefit of your other readers. You do not receive any benefit to a delegation made in this fashion (besides the benefit you get of feeling good because you did a good thing). It is still a great thing to do, but want to make it clear that you absolutely do not receive anything in return for a delegation. Minnowbooster and related services are a totally different story. There, someone has to PAY to receive the delegation - and that is where the money that you receive as a delegator to minnowbooster comes from. You are basically selling your delegation to someone. I am personally opposed to selling delegations and selling votes, for my own personal reasons.

Cheers - Carl

Thanks for letting me know! I might keep doing it on a smaller scale in future.
Would you perhaps know though: A friend of mine was delegated 100 sp about 2 months ago I think. The delegation amount now reads 101.24. Where does the extra come from? I had the same with the delegation to me which is also 100, but on the sender's wallet it shows 100.008?

well the amount shouldn't change after delegation, but at the moment of delegation if the incorrect value of Steem per Mvest is put in during the delegation calculation, the total may be slightly off. The tool you linked automatically pulls in the current value of Steem per Mvest so that shouldn't be an issue, but if you use the manual way of calculating this and didn't have the current value for Steem per Mvest then something like this could happen. If you are saying the delegation initially showed up as 100 SP and then changed later, it is a different delegation or the person changed the delegation amount after the fact. I will run a quick query on your delegation to find out. Back in a minute

Cool, thanks. If you look at @moderndragon's wallet you can see what I mean. It has steadily been going up since I did the delegation yesterday.

Huh I actually do not see that you did a delegation to @moderndragon. These are the only delegations I am seeing going out from your account:

Moderndragon is delegating to me. It was my first account that I opened to promote our business. My husband does the art and I run the merchandising and media bit. I enjoyed writing so much that I made myself this blog to keep the dragons and the garden/cats separate. So I run Moderndragon along with my husband now, which is why I said I did the delegation. Sorry for the confusion.
From Simplylizelle now I'm running those 3 other delegations.

I cancelled the moderndragon delegation this morning to more clearly track my Simplylizelle delegations.

I like this concept. Good thinking

Thanks. I haven't been able to find out what the rate of interest is on a delegation so it will be interesting to see how this pans out. I'm also horrible at math lol.

Good luck with this delegating.

Do you think it's a bad idea?

No.. but I don't know the technical way of using things like delegating.

Ok 🙂. The app makes it quite easy. It works like doing a normal transfer to another account.

Thanks like to keep things simple.

Same! Trying fo figure out vests and all that is beyond me 😆

I think is a very interesting project , let’s see what happens

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77