Some thoughts about Diaspora and Fediverse [2019/02/05]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #opensource5 years ago

Hi all! Today I want to take a little break from studying Python and read about cryptocurrencies, and publish some of my thoughts.

Diaspora

Probably I'm leaving Diaspora, and there are several reasons for that.

Honestly, in the beginning, when I found Diaspora, I thought, "Wow! This social network must be full of crypto, privacy and other foss enthusiasts."

After I saw the general activity in the Diaspora, I thought, "Okay, let's see, maybe in time the people will come.". And my stay here has turned into some kind of social experiment, which is probably coming to the end.

I was there since 04/09/2017. If any of you say I wasn't active enough, you'll probably be right. On the other hand, I was active in looking for interesting people (profiles). I found some people' s contacts (Jabber, Telegram, BitMessage, Riot, etc.). And when I introduced myself and asked: "Why you left the Diaspora?", the answers were similar: low activity; the project is not very convenient in its present form.

I agree on the low activity, as well as on the convenience of the project in its present form. No offense, but the Diaspora isn't exactly comfortable. For me, also Facebook isn't exactly comfortable. Also I think that Facebook is the most useless social network in the world. Some people might disagree with me (this billion users or more?), and they will probably be right too. The tool must solve the assigned task. In my case, Facebook doesn't solve anything, so I really don't like Facebook UI.

What I'd like to see in Diaspora? -- groups, pages (but more thoughtful than on Facebook), and of course the ability to upload your music and videos.


Fediverse

"***Leave the familiar Web behind, and dive into the unique part of the Internet.*****" -- ...says on the site: https://fediverse.party/
Nicely said, I really like it.

Don't be afraid to see the list of "services", but first read what Fediverse is, how it works and the concept of "Why is it cool?" will come by itself.

For example, I personally chose [Mastodon](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mastodon_(software) (but you can choose Pleroma, HubZilla, Frendica etc) and the instance Fosstodon.org (it's a Mastodon instance that is dedicated to Free & Open Source Software). Mastodon also has two great mobile clients:



I liked Mastodon and the instance on which I created my account. In my local timeline, I see interesting stuff about FOSS and no ads. It's awesome. The federated timeline is good for finding other interesting people to follow with other interests/hobbies.

One day I would like to see the possibility of online streaming in Mastodon, for example using another open source project called Jitsi.


For several years I have been impressed by the philosophy of open source projects. So if you take this article as an advertisement... maybe it is. Depends on which side to look at it from. But still, I didn't make any money on this "advertisement".
Also it's just a good alternative to social networks that track your activity and sell your personal data.

If this article makes you want to know more about Fediverse, then it has completed its mission.
Please visit: https://the-federation.info/ and welcome into the unique part of the Internet. 🙂


TheFuzzStone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13